Skip to content

Bible in Five Statements Meme

December 4, 2009

Recently, Carl over at the Website of Unknowing challenged me to a new meme – The Bible In Five Statements.

The rules of the meme are simple: 1st statement, 1 word; 2nd statement, 2 words; 3rd statement, 3 words; 4th statement, 4 words; 5th statement, 5 words.

15 words to sum up the entire bible.

He has lots of elegant ones up over at his blog.

Me, I’m a hacker. I’ve been struggling with what to write for over a week.

Here’s what I’ve got.

1) Contradictory

2) Ironically enlightening

3) Filled with frustrations

4) Pathway to hope revealed

5) Demonstrates unchanging nature of humanity

The ones at Carl’s place were much lighter, and more hopeful than perhaps mine are- I’m in a theologically dark place.  They are certainly more eloquent, I think.

I’d love to hear how Kay, Shelley , Kirsten, Paul and Jane handle this meme – but my interesting isn’t just limited to them (and as usual, if there is no time or interest for those tagged, there is also no obligation to comply!) If you want to play, consider yourself tagged. Link back if you blog, write them here if you don’t.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 4:54 pm

    Ah man! I KNEW you’d do that! 😉

    OK, I’ll get to thinking and writing before I read anybody elses, lest they influence me. 🙂

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      December 4, 2009 5:00 pm

      Hehehe! I iz evul. Thanks!

  2. Paul in ABQ permalink
    December 4, 2009 5:24 pm

    Oh dear. I come to a Friday afternoon and am so ready to chill and here comes Mrs. Fluffy with an assignment. Sheesh.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      December 4, 2009 5:26 pm

      I encourage you to drink some wine while you do this assignment though…and eat good food. And you know I’ll give an easy “A”. I’m so soft!

  3. December 4, 2009 7:51 pm

    Wow, Eileen … I can’t resist this. I haven’t studied the Bible in years … Once upon a time, I read it voraciously. This meme is utterly fascinating — I’ve been skipping from blog to blog, taking in the responses … I jotted down my immediate, intuitive five statements before I read any others:

    1. Creation
    2. Jesus wept.
    3. Lots of blood.
    4. The Song of Solomon
    5. Love … hate … everything in between.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      December 4, 2009 8:31 pm

      Love it jaliya!!!!! Thank you!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. December 4, 2009 11:00 pm

    1. love
    2. include everyone
    3. help the needy
    4. leave judgment to godde
    5. work to bring heaven to earth

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      December 5, 2009 12:08 pm

      I like these Shel! Work to bring heaven to earth especially!

  5. Bill Carroll permalink
    December 5, 2009 6:02 am

    1. God
    2. Liberate slaves
    3. Goodness and mercy
    4. The Word became flesh.
    5. Jesus died and rose again.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      December 5, 2009 12:09 pm

      Yeah..it is all about God, isn’t it? How humans know God. Thanks Bill!

  6. December 5, 2009 9:15 am

    All right, I wrote my own before I opened comments. Y’all did great. Here are my paltry attempts:

    Illuminating
    Ever new
    God at work
    Story of God’s people
    Helping me live in faith

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      December 5, 2009 12:10 pm

      I like these too Pat! God at work – yes, very much so (even though we seem to be good at messing up God’s work and complicating it, for sure!), and illuminating…I like that one too! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. The Bible in Five Statements Meme : Ephemeral Thoughts
  2. The “Bible in Five Statements” Meme « Mystikos
  3. The bible in five words « The Divine Latitude
  4. bible haiku « a time to rend
  5. The Bible in Five Statements Meme « Ephemeral Thoughts
  6. The Bible In Five Statements Meme

Leave a comment