Skip to content

Fat Talk Free Week 10/13-10/17/08

October 14, 2008

I woke up this morning and what should I see, but an article where Eva Longoria-Parker was “defending” herself regarding a 7lb weight gain (click on link for photo evidence of Longoria-Parker’s “roundness” – yeah, I know..I’m still looking too!) . Seven FUCKING pounds..and she’s all talking about how she’s “still” a size 0 – even after a 7lb weight gain.

UM…HELLLOOOOOOO. WTF kind of world are we living in, where a skinny chick, who is STILL a skinny chick, has to talk about a 7lb weight gain????

Then I pop over to Broadsheet for some sanity, and find this: Fat Talk Free Week, part of the Reflections: Body Image Program.  This is a program being instituted on college campuses around the country, to raise our consciousness of the widespread prevalance of body image issues among women and to promote the idea that it’s important to be “healthy” and to appreciate your healthy body, regardless of it’s size or shape, which is to be celebrated unto itself.  Being thin, doesn’t necessarily mean you are healthy – especially if you have to exercise like an obsessive nut, and skip lots of meals , or eat freaky to do it.

54% of women report that they would rather be HIT BY A TRUCK, then be FAT.  How effed is THAT? Cripes.

Well…I’m in on this. One week, where I will NOT talk about how big my thighs are, or how that girl should NOT be wearing that (not something I engage in much anyway…so that should be easy). How ’bout it? Join me? Get your cousins, moms, sisters, bffs to join us?

Please do take a few minutes to watch this video – it’s rather shocking in its stats.

And don’t forget:  NOW’s Love Your Body Day is tomorrow, 10/15. Let’s take back our power!

Come on chicas – let’s luf ourselves!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2008 8:04 am

    Thanks for posting this. As someone who has struggled with weight my whole life long, I really get upset over this.

    So for those who would rather be hit by a truck than be fat, I am sorry for them. I would rather not be fat but I can only learn to love and heal and then work with what I have.

    Love is the answer- for the self!

    Thank you!!!!!!!!

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 14, 2008 10:02 am

    (((((((Fran))))))) Me too.

  3. Paul (A.) permalink
    October 14, 2008 10:51 am

    Eileen, honey, don’t start the day getting me to think about your thighs. I’m a married man!

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 14, 2008 11:10 am

    Now Paul…you KNOW I have no control over your mind, nor anyone else’s…

    All I do is suggest…what you all do with the suggestion, is up to you all. Laughs!

  5. October 14, 2008 11:52 am

    Heh, heh… Paul got to it before I did ;-> So just stop it, you tease!

    And yeah, I rolled my eyes, too, at the article about Eva. But I still gave that picture long, thoughtful study…

  6. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 14, 2008 12:55 pm

    Laughs at you too David!

    And I know what you mean about Eva..even I was looking at her…damn.

  7. October 14, 2008 1:47 pm

    Awesome post!! And I love your blog — can’t believe I haven’t seen it till now. I’ve posted on my hatred of Barbie on my blog in the past … I’m finding it such a challenge to raise two daughters amidst the crazy messages we women are bombarded with every single minute of the day. Doesn’t help that my office is next door to a modeling agency where there is a steady stream of young women walking in and out of, who seemingly disappear when they turn sideways…..

  8. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 14, 2008 3:23 pm

    Welcome Kristin! Glad you enjoyed the post and my blog.

    Anybody who hates Barbie is on my good list!

  9. October 14, 2008 5:26 pm

    I hate the way women’s bodies have been turned into consumer items. Thank you for this post.

  10. October 15, 2008 10:37 am

    That Paul (A)., he flirts on several blogs, you know. 😉

    Today is the day! Thanks for this. I’m celebratin’.

  11. October 15, 2008 2:57 pm

    Men have body issues too ya know!

    (Dreaming about losing the next 24 lbs…)

  12. October 15, 2008 8:26 pm

    I’m with piscosours (and not for the first time). I gots body issues, too. I was a skinny guy until I hit 40 and quit smoking!

  13. October 16, 2008 12:11 am

    Yeah but Padre you’ll live a lot longer and for that I am glad.

    Another one whose weight soared in the past three years and the doctor’s response was, ‘live with it.’ That’s hard because I am miserable; I look in the mirror and I don’t even recognise myself.

  14. October 16, 2008 9:41 am

    /me commiserates with Padre Mickey.

    I was as thin as a rail and could eat like a horse until hit my thirties (and got married. hmmmm…?)

  15. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 16, 2008 2:57 pm

    Gentlemens….then line up wif da wimins…and stop worrying about it.

    We luf you just the same…just like you luf us, right?

    SO NO FAT TALK.

    So far..I’m doing pretty good.

  16. October 27, 2008 1:36 pm

    We luf you just the same…just like you luf us, right?

    Absolutely, oh babelicious hostess! 😉

Leave a comment