Skip to content

Friday Freeform

July 12, 2013

Sometimes, things come to me in batches.  I’ve read two young adult books this week, The Graveyard Book by Gaiman and The Truth About Forever, by Sarah Dessen, that both deal with themes of loss and the detriment of living the “safe” life. The detriment  being that living safely means you’re not really living. Stylistically, you can’t find two authors who are more dissimilar, and yet, both deliver the universal story of learning to come in to one’s own, falling soundly in my lap, one on top of the other in the same week. Within four days.  Through the YA venue. Which I don’t often read.

Coincidence? I think not.

I am not a huge taker of risks. Most times I’ve taken risks, it’s turned out bad. So I try to live quietly.

Except when I keep getting poked by the universe like this. Then I try to pay attention and figure out what the universe is trying to tell me.  Some of us call that poke God – ymmv.

Then today I saw these two poems, more poke,poke. I’m just pondering the message being spoken to me today.

Alone in the Fog

I Am Much Too Alone in This World, Yet Not Alone

Rainer Maria Rilke
translated by Annemarie S. Kidder

I am much too alone in this world, yet not alone 
    enough
to truly consecrate the hour.
I am much too small in this world, yet not small 
    enough
to be to you just object and thing, 
dark and smart.
I want my free will and want it accompanying 
the path which leads to action;
and want during times that beg questions, 
where something is up, 
to be among those in the know, 
or else be alone.

I want to mirror your image to its fullest perfection, 
never be blind or too old
to uphold your weighty wavering reflection. 
I want to unfold.
Nowhere I wish to stay crooked, bent; 
for there I would be dishonest, untrue. 
I want my conscience to be 
true before you;
want to describe myself like a picture I observed 
for a long time, one close up, 
like a new word I learned and embraced, 
like the everday jug, 
like my mother's face, 
like a ship that carried me along 
through the deadliest storm.

See more at: Poets.org

 

 

Daisy world
If you want what visible reality
can give, you’re an employee.
If you want the unseen world,
you’re not living your truth.
Both wishes are foolish,
but you’ll be forgiven for forgetting
that what you really want is
love’s confusing joy.

Rumi
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2013 12:52 pm

    Hi! ! I nominated you for the ABC Award. Please get the badges at http://wp.me/s32YrK-zest and get more info. Keep blogging!

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 15, 2013 2:00 pm

    Thank you belsbror. How thoughtful of you…

Leave a Reply

