Skip to content

Higher Education Entertainment

October 26, 2010

Things at work have been tense. The Governor of our dear state has painted educators to be the cause of its financial ruination, and has tightened up the purse strings in an attempt to get public K-12 schools to be more “corporate” in their practices and less corrupt and nepotistic (unlike the rest of GOVERNMENT in NJ! sarcasm/off). Tenure is a horror, and teachers are blood sucking creatures who suffer from extreme entitlement issues (otherwise know as employment contracts) and are the blight of the state and the ultimate cause of its ruination (along with police officers and fire fighters who also have contracts that the state is too corrupt broke to honor). The overbloated administrations of school districts have allowed this cut back to settle right up against our students by cutting services to them, as well as cutting positions for those who provide direct services to students, including, you know, the grounds people and secretaries who actually are pivotal to making schools FUNCTION. Administrations have NOT taken a financial hit in terms of salary reduction, or RIF’d any high paid administrators. Shocking, no? (sorry, my sarcasm came back…my bad!)

As the superintendent of schools in my town was just arrested by the FBI and indicted on 18 counts of bribery related charges (taking an estimated $1-$2 MILLION dollars in bribes over an 8 year period from a sham insurance company from he took bribes to ensure the continued use of said sham company, and burying its use by fluffing the district insurance costs by $500-$600k per year), let’s just say the corruption message is hitting rather close to home. I FUME when I think about how all that money that could have gone back into programming for students or toward staffing or building maintenance, instead, went to line the pockets of those in power and those with insatiable greed.

The effects of the Governor’s vitriol is funneling to the public post-secondary ed sector as well, and we are in a state of “financial emergency” (to which I say, bullshit, but really, who am I? A few months ago we were “fine” – now we are in an emergency!) RIF’s are coming, and we are all to do more for less, with less personnel, and we are to be sure that no aspect of excellence is to be sacrificed due to these cuts, or we can just go and get on the bread line with the rest of the life sucking civil employees who have been left by the state to move from salaried with a purpose, to just plan on the government dole and scared to death.

Oh, and if you survive the RIF and get to keep your job, I believe the call will be for us all to get down on our knees while the administration unzips…I’m just saying.

So, I’m in a black mood about all this. The upcoming elections do nothing to soothe me – insanity seems to predominate every where (and because of my proximity I have see commercials for Carl Paladino AND Christine O’Donnell AND Linda McMahon, GOD HELP ME), and it seems to me that we Americans have forgotten the Constitution starts with, you know, WE THE PEOPLE…Not ME the People…That “we are all in this together”. That “united we stand, divided we fall”. But no…corporate America has successfully used the idiot box to broadcast the message that taxing them is bad, because, if they weren’t taxed, they’d be able to make more jobs – when in reality, it’s pretty much been demonstrated that the money has a tendency to go into huge bonuses for the people who have already been earning huge dollars off of the backs of the lowly.

So, in that context I’m going to share something with you that amused (if not cheered) me in regards to those seeking a phD who think they’d like to work for a college and the likely employment environment they will be entering should they be insane enough to actually PURSUE said degree. H/t to Jane R. for sharing on Facebook! Click the link to watch the 4 minute video. Go ahead. Do it! You know you want to!
So you want to get a PhD in the Humanities

Yeah…it’s like that!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    October 26, 2010 12:21 pm

    It’s getting crazy everywhere you look. I’m thinking that I had my head phones on, and missed my stop…Heart and got off at Earth by mistake. Due to dyslexia no doubt.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      October 26, 2010 2:29 pm

      I’d seriously like to get off the bus or get on it – whichever would make it go away!

  2. Paul (A.) permalink
    October 26, 2010 12:57 pm

    Not to mention your wacko congressional campaign. My condolences!

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      October 26, 2010 2:31 pm

      Seriously. I’ve had it. It’s so depressing. And I work in the heart of conservative land in NJ – lead by a conservative-teapartyesque-baby boomers, who think they are advocating change and “progress”.

      Needless to say, I’m living in an alternate universe from these folks!

  3. Paul in ABQ permalink
    October 26, 2010 7:13 pm

    My high-quality education and years of professional experience have prepared me to answer phones all day on a help desk. BUT I have no committee meetings and I only publish to please myself. I only work forty hours a week. I guess dropping out of two doctoral programs over the course of my life was really not so bad.

    Hugs to you, Fluffy!

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      October 28, 2010 9:45 am

      There is most certainly something to be said about no committee meetings and publishing for one’s own enjoyment.

      And hugs back at you Paul!

  4. Episcogranny permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:40 am

    Several of us spoke at length about your idiot governor yesterday at coffee hour, namely about his decision to shut down the tunnel project. So what you write is no surprise.

    BTW, Taciturn, whose votes I cancel, is a big fan of your governor. He said he would vote for him for president if he chose to run. May God help us all if THAT should happen.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 2, 2010 2:41 pm

      Oof. If he becomes president I’ll be BESIDE myself. I don’t really wanna move to Canada. I mean, at least if he’s just Governor of NJ, I can pretend I can move out of state!

  5. November 4, 2010 8:45 am

    You’re probably not feeling any better today, what with the horror that took place on the 2nd. Well, at least you’re in super company. I’m feeling downright despondent. We have a newly elected Republican governor. Sestak got beat, too.

Leave a Reply

