Skip to content

I wonder…

August 23, 2010

how many people who are currently so vocally opposed to the building of a Muslim Community Center, (to the point of proudly campaigning on the idea) will hang their head in shame and twist their tongues in double talk spasms when, in 15-30 years, the depth of their hatred, ignorance, and racism is a blatant beacon for the entire world to see and remember. (McCarthy trials, anybody? Sacco and Vanzetti? Leopold and Lobe? the Rosenberg trial and execution?- but I digress…)

You know, just because a lot of people think just like you, doesn’t make the crux of the thought “right”. Mass ignorance is still just ignorance, no matter how many people have the same ignorant thought.

I wonder how many of the folks currently hating on American Muslims are related to recent immigrants who were called Hotsy Totsy Little Nazi during WWII or who were thrown into interment camps because they were Japanese Americans. Good ole guilt by association.

God people make me so sad/sick all once.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 10:14 am

    We were actually having a conversation about this the other day at work of all places. Discussion was actually very civil. My own contribution (which actually ended the conversation) was “we can discuss on the merits the wisdom of the Cordoba Center but any concerns based of out fear has no place in it. Last time I checked fear was not an American value.”

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      August 23, 2010 10:23 am

      “Last time I checked fear was not an American value.” I couldn’t agree more with that statement.

      These people are AMERICANS. Muslims were among the innocents murdered that day.

      And..they aren’t planning on building an extremist/fundamentalist Mosque on the ground floor of the new tower.

      Muslims didn’t murder those folks – terrorists did. Extremist fanatics.

      Not all Germans were Nazis. Not all Japanese were terrifying killing machines or spies.

      The America I love, is bigger than that. So when I see such overwhelming, vociferous evidence that America is actually cowed by ignorance and fear mongering, it breaks my heart.

  2. August 23, 2010 10:25 am

    There is one God, be God called Father, Abba, Allah. What better way is there to seek God’s healing than for his creatures to gather, even at the very site of the wound, to worship him?

  3. August 23, 2010 1:42 pm

    I wonder the same thing. And frankly when I see these protestors I think of all those hateful faces way back during the civil rights movement and the school desegregation. Some of their faces was seared into my brain. I wonder how they feel today. I suspect they are deeply ashamed.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      August 23, 2010 1:56 pm

      Sadly, I’m sure some of them are feeling vindicated by thinking, “See…people who are not like us are NOT to be trusted…first women got the vote, then n*ggers got all uppity and got rights, looks like fags’ll be allowed to get married, and religious tolerance got our World Trade Center blowed up…If only we never listened to those damned pansy libruls, our country would still be as safe as it was when I were a kid…”

      UGH.

  4. August 23, 2010 1:47 pm

    It’s all politics. The ultra right wing nuts have to keep their sheeple in place and fear seems to be their primary tool. They are slowly losing the homo battle and their illegal immigrant fight is pretty localized so they pounced on this. Be assured they will find more situations to keep their voters hating someone other than them. Sad. Sick. Silly. Stupid. I wish we didn’t have to reap what they sow.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      August 23, 2010 1:57 pm

      Here, here. I’m tired of reaping what they sow too.

      However, on some fronts, the worlds is already coming apart at the scene. I attended a party over the weekend where there was an openly transsexual young adult, and no one batted an eyelash. The kids today just don’t view things as a “problem” – not that they don’t harbor other prejudices – it’s just in my experience that one seems to be on the wane. It gave me hope.

  5. Sarah Vanzetter permalink
    August 23, 2010 6:10 pm

    Good point overall…but Leopold & Loeb? How do they fit into this?

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      August 24, 2010 9:37 am

      You are correct Sarah. I was relying on my brain to bring up the names of xenophobic related trials, and Leopold and Lobe did not fit that profile. I was trying to conjure up the Rosenberg trial, which I do believe fits the xenophobia profile I was going for – Thanks for keeping me honest!

  6. Kevin Kerr permalink
    September 8, 2010 4:35 pm

    It is noteworth that at least Mr. Rosenberg, apparently, was guilty.

    Kevin K.

Leave a Reply

