Skip to content

A poem and a prayer

May 19, 2010

My EfM mentor shared a poem with us today that spoke to me, so I shall share. The author is unknown at this point – if you recognize the poem, please share the author, and I’ll attribute properly!

For The One Who is Tired

Dear heart, God does not say
today, “Be strong!”
He knows your strength is
spent, He knows how long
The road has been, how weary
you have grown:
For He who walked the earthly
roads alone,
Each bogging lowland and each
long, steep hill,
Can understand, and so He
says, “Be still
And know that I am God.” The
hour is late
And you must rest awhile, and
you must wait
until life’s empty reservoirs fill up
As slow rain fills an empty,
upturned cup.
Hold up your cup , dear child,
for God to fill.
He only asks today that you be
still.

Which brings me to this prayer that I often go to when I am stressed to the point of being unable to think or function – I often pray it on the week beads of my rosary:

Be still and know that I am God.
Be still and know.
Be still.
Be.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    May 19, 2010 5:22 pm

    This is simply lovely Eileen. Thank you so much!

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      May 20, 2010 1:56 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it Sherry!

  2. May 25, 2010 8:42 am

    I do like the longer one, but also admit that your shorter prayer resonates more with me. For some reason beyond me, the urging to ‘be still’ does something. It unties something inside of me.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      May 25, 2010 2:44 pm

      My brain is hardly EVER still. Ever.

      If I don’t stop and remind myself that it’s ok to be still, and that it’s mostly beyond me anyway, so, let me let God do the part God is good at/for, and let me let go of the rest (which is most of it…)

      I rarely succeed, but I do find the prayer calming.

  3. May 25, 2010 10:50 pm

    Wonderful poem. I hope you find the author.

  4. Mary West permalink
    August 22, 2012 10:10 pm

    The author is Grace Noll Crowell.

  5. March 24, 2016 2:09 pm

    Authour: Grace Noll Crowell

Leave a Reply

