Skip to content

Recent Re-Read: Me Talk Pretty One Day

April 26, 2010

I was recently reading a post over at The Write Idea, by Laura where she wrote a great essay about getting to see David Sedaris live.  Sedaris has written a number of very humorous collections of essays and is a regular on This American Life.

Her post reminded me of how hilarious I think his essays are and how much I really like his writing, which prompted me to re-read Me Talk Pretty One Day over the weekend.  My three favorite essays in the book are You Can’t Kill the Rooster, Big Boy and I’ll Eat What He’s Wearing (which were  about his eccentrically foul-mouthed youngest brother, encountering a turd that just won’t flush at a friend’s apartment, and his dad’s penchant to hide and eat rotten food – mistaking the brim of his ancient cap for one of his stored “treasures” when it comes loose in his suitcase, and he, um, eats it!) Every time I read them, I just bust a gut laughing.

Sedaris spends time in the book talking about what a dolt he is, and how is IQ scores don’t come back to promote him to be a genius, but, he most certainly does possess a certain degree of genius.  His writing is riddled with his cutting and dry observations of the characters that populate his life, his interactions with them, and the running commentary he generates inside his own mind. It’s really quite brilliant, despite what Sedaris says.

If you have never read him before, be prepared for some cutting sardonic wit from which no one is spared, not even, and perhaps most particularly, Sedaris himself.  I forgot how funny the book is, and how much I truly enjoyed reading it the first go through.  So my thanks to Laura for reminding me of how funny Sedaris really is!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    April 26, 2010 4:49 pm

    Sounds exactly like some one I would enjoy reading! Thanks for the heads up Eileen, I’ll be looking for his book(s).

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      April 27, 2010 9:18 am

      This book is “colorful” Sherry – so just be forewarned. I’m not apologizing for it’s colorfulness, mind you, but just giving out a friendly warning!

  2. Susan s. permalink
    April 26, 2010 5:00 pm

    I love the story about being on the Metro in Paris with his partner and the Texas Asshole got on and started talking about David in front of him because he thought he was French! What a hoot. I love him.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      April 27, 2010 9:19 am

      I loved that one too. I was just DYING for Sedaris to reach into his pocket for his wallet and say, in perfect English, “Yes…I speak English, I’m an American, and you are an asshole!”

  3. April 26, 2010 5:02 pm

    You’re welcome! Glad you enjoyed it the second time around, too.

Leave a Reply

