Skip to content

A summation of the RC’s position on sexuality…

April 26, 2010

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 3:56 pm

    For me, this brings a laugh that has some pain in it, for certain. 🙂

    I’ve never been abused, but as a queer cradle Catholic who knows several good priests (both straight and gay), this whole situation is just so deeply disheartening. I wish that the Vatican would follow the lead of the English and Welsh bishops.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      April 26, 2010 4:10 pm

      You know Rachael, I had a similar reaction to it.

      I think, if sex and sexuality weren’t such pointless hot button issues for the RC, I’d still be a member of it. But, it just seems a huge obstacle to get over.

      And for what it’s worth, for me, this cartoon is more of an institutional comment then the views of any particular member of it. I too know good priests, and I while I was abused, it was by a family member – not a clergy member.

      I guess, because I think of the church as a haven – a sanctuary, and because I view family as a fully flawed and human enterprise, which it what is, (since it is not necessarily striving for anything, if you know what I mean), I just find this exhibition of humanity within the institutional church to be more painful for me personally, but not more wrong – abuse at the hands of your family also breaks something which should be sacred…

  2. JCF permalink
    April 26, 2010 6:46 pm

    Touche’!

Leave a Reply

