Skip to content

Some Sheryl Crow for Tuesday

April 20, 2010

I love this song. When I’m in my car, I turn this up and sing it on the top of my lungs. It’s mostly in my range, with the exception of the extreme upper end of the register in the coda, but as that is the emotional height of the song, I belt my way through it anyway, with some falsetto and squeaks, or I just drop it an octave.  Singing this is all kinds of satisfying: soulful, soaring, plainitive, remorseful, edgy.

My kids roll their eyes at me, but, whatev! I just love to sing this one.

The Difficult Kind Lyrics (behind the jump!)

I think I was wrong
I think you were right
That all my angry words
Will keep me up at night
And through the old screen door
I still can hear you say
“Oh, Honey won’t you stop
Treating me that way?”

If you could only see
What love has made of me
Then I’d no longer be in your mind
The difficult kind
‘Cause babe I’ve changed

Say it to me slow
Say it with your eyes
‘Cause if anyone should know
How to let it slide
I swear I can see you
Coming up the drive
There ain’t nothing like regret
To remind you you’re alive

If you could only see
What love has made of me
Then I’d no longer be in your mind
The difficult kind
‘Cause babe I’ve changed

I crossed the canyon a thousand times
But never noticed what was mine
What you’ll remember of me tonight
Well, it almost makes me cry
Yes it almost makes me cry

If you could only see
What love has made of me
Then I’d no longer be in your mind
The difficult kind
But you won’t see
THe change in me, no

If you could only see
What love has made of me
Then I’d no longer be in your mind
The difficult kind
But you won’t see
The change in me, oh…
But you won’t see
But babe I’ve changed
Babe I’ve changed

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jack permalink
    April 20, 2010 1:36 pm

    I love that song. It’s beautiful. Check out the version with Eric Clapton on guitar:

    or that one from the 2008 tour:

    Jack

  2. April 23, 2010 9:06 am

    I adore this song. Our voices are perhaps similar. I can carry a tune, with sweetness, some say, but I’m lacking in power. I want power! I have difficulty with the part of ‘yeah it almost makes me cry.’

  3. February 8, 2012 3:01 pm

    Hey, I just hopped over to your site via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually browse, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thanks for creating something worthy of reading.. haha the one who is posting the comments Agreeable A shapely Agreeable.

Leave a Reply

