Skip to content

Oren Lavie – Dance Round the Memory Tree

March 15, 2010

My daughter is a huge fan of the movie The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian.  We’ve seen the movie repeatedly, and this song plays in the credits.  There is something in the piano that moves me – it’s sad, and poignant, but there is movement, like an undulation.

Anyway…the images here are of the cast and crew, which are a whatever for me. If you feel like it, click on play, and work on something else while you listen to the piece. Just wanted to share!

lyrics behind the jump

Dance Round the Memory Tree

Words we have said
Grew in my head
Colored my thoughts
Sang me to bed

Lost memories
Grew into trees
Covered the doors
Swallowed the keys

Winters have come and gone
You know
Winters have come and gone
You know
But I’ll meet you young and free
For a dance ’round the memory tree

Said I forgot
But I did not
Dreams we have had
Play in my head

Did we believe
The cry of the leaves?
Did we regret?
Would we forget?

Winters have come and gone
You know
Winters have come and gone
You know
But I’ll meet you young and free
For a dance ’round the memory tree

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 12:04 pm

    Thanks — lovely.

  2. March 15, 2010 5:15 pm

    Really nice. I also loved the movie, but I’m a Narnia buff.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      March 16, 2010 9:42 am

      My daughter takes after me in this regard – I really love those stories.

  3. episcopalifem permalink*
    March 16, 2010 9:41 am

    Glad you both liked it!

  4. Cathy permalink
    March 17, 2010 11:11 am

    I didn’t like the Lion, the Witch film much when I first saw it but then wept when I saw it again. I haven’t seen Prince Caspian. I love those books utterly. I reread them every now and then, and they’re always every bit as good.

  5. Mpumi permalink
    April 1, 2010 3:17 am

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

