Skip to content

I like when I can make a challenge to my kid…

January 11, 2010

…that ends up being fun for me.

J2’s long term substitute is going to have the kids log 15 minutes of reading time, starting today.  J2 reads pretty well, but, she is lazy and would rather watch a movie than read a great story.

Her tastes in stories tends to resemble mine – this is an 8 year old who likes Star Wars (all six movies), The Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter, the Golden Compass, etc.  Good science fiction and fantasy stories are a favorite of hers, just like her momma.

I bought Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle In Time for her brother to read, well over a year ago, and I haven’t been able to coax him yet.

So…I challenged J2 to read it. I told her, I’ll read it with her, and if she finishes it, I’ll take her to see a movie and to lunch with Just Me as a special treat.

She started reading it last night.

The thing is, I’ve never read A Wrinkle inTime, but I know I’ll like it, and now I have an excuse to read it. Heee heee heee. Love it when that can sort of work out for me too!  My bil had gone through his boys books, and another copy of A Wrinkle in Time was among those titles, so we have two copies  in the house!

So…we shall see. At the very least, I’ll get to read something I’ve been looking for an excuse to move up the reading list for awhile.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul in ABQ permalink
    January 11, 2010 5:48 pm

    I enjoyed L’Engle’s books in that series very much. Have fun!

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 12, 2010 12:20 pm

      So far, so good! I’m gonna enjoy this one!

  2. January 11, 2010 5:54 pm

    Oh you are in for a treat! I love the entire series. I highly recommend A Swiftly Tilting Planet for a unique take on the Noah story….

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 12, 2010 12:21 pm

      Yay! I’m hoping to get her hooked on the series – if not, I’m sure I will be!

  3. January 11, 2010 5:58 pm

    Aren’t you lucky to be able to read this wonder for the first time. You are in for a treat.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 12, 2010 12:22 pm

      Thanks Jay. I’m definitely looking forward to it. I love getting to read some “children’s” stories as an adult – I still so strongly identify with those struggles faced in growing up – especially since I’m pretty convinced I’ll never been done doing it!

  4. Nancy Ewart permalink
    January 11, 2010 10:52 pm

    I have a model of a tessaract (sp) that I will show you tomorrow

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 12, 2010 12:22 pm

      I’m definitely looking forward to seeing it Nancy! Yay!

  5. Paul in ABQ permalink
    January 12, 2010 12:59 pm

    When I was in grad school at UCLA there was a bookstore in Westwood that had all juvenile literature in their large basement. I began to devour books I had not read as a child or teenager, including L’Engle. Reading them as an adult often allows us to really appreciate what great stories they are (and how well written). This was when I read the Narnia Chronicles, the entire Tarzan series, and all manner of Newberry Award winners.

  6. January 13, 2010 12:38 pm

    You mean I needed an excuse to read A Wrinkle In Time as an adult? Just proof yet again that I’m awful at playing by the rules. 😉

    I’ve been giving sister’s oldest daughter Madeleine L’Engle’s books for Christmas the past couple years.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 13, 2010 12:45 pm

      No excuse is needed! I just needed an excuse to move it up the list…and make my reading of it more, erm, immediate! Hee!

      I also don’t follow the rules well…which is odd for an outward conformist, but there you have it.

  7. January 13, 2010 12:40 pm

    Doxy, you’re thinking of “Many Waters”, the fourth in the “sequence.”

    I inadvertently bumped into “Wrinkle” when I was in the fifth grade, which would have been 1970, and fell in love with the genre. I own an autographed copy, and it replaced my “original” Scholastic version.

    I have just learned of “The Dark Is Rising” sequence as one of my students was assigned the second book in that series, so have read the first two books. I love interspersing the “light reads” in my stack of “to be read” books — pure escapism! As I was given a gift card to Borders for Christmas, the “Spiderwick Chronicles” have now made the stack. Sadly, they must wait until I read a therapist-recommended book. Stupid, stupid therapist!

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 13, 2010 12:48 pm

      Yes..stupid therapist – of course, if the book is helpful, we’ll drop the stupid, even if only grudgingly.

      J2 also really liked the Spiderwick movie..so they are on my short list, as well.

Leave a Reply

