Skip to content

Mental meanderings

January 8, 2010
  • I’m reading those books in the side bar.  Cathedral of the Sea is for book club this month, and I’m REALLY enjoying it. It’s very good so far, and I”m about halfway through. This is one I’d recommend to those who like historical fiction, set in medieval Europe, with lots of intrigue and insight into the sociocultural, political and religious atmosphere of the time period.  Emotionally engaging read – lots of complicated relationships with all the ensuing tensions and struggles.
  • Crossing to Avalon is interesting – the skeptical/logical side of me and the mystical side of me are at war over the concept of synchronicity.  What with the revelation of Jung’s madness casting a bit of shadow over his theories, my skeptical side gets engaged, but the idea of things lining up for a reason is one that rings true to me – at least anecdotally.  Some people call it the Holy Spirit, the divine, the One, the Tao, whatever…it does seem to me that unrelated, symbolic events occur, and if pondered, can be used to make intuitive connections. Then the logical/skeptical side of me kicks in and thinks…WTF? That’s all just nonsense.
  • Which leads me to messing with the I Ching and tarot online. Just for shits and giggles. Interesting.
  • Preparing to be a first time delegate to the diocesan convention (because, really, I just don’t have enough to frickin’ do!)
  • Trying to figure out where to go with my career/vocational life, as the current one is dissatisfying. Not sure if it’s a dry spell or just a vast ancient desert.
  • Ssssh..don’t tell anyone, but I really like playing Guitar Hero/Rock Band – even more than my kids, I think. I bought my own guitar! Laughs!
  • Still giggling over the Jesus in the Big Lebowski. I know. I’m EASILY amused.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 12:55 pm

    What online tarot and I Ching sites have you been playing with?

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    January 8, 2010 2:07 pm

    Crowley Thoth Tarot online and I Ching Online

  3. January 8, 2010 2:45 pm

    Cool. The tarot site doesn’t want to work for me for some reason. 😦

    Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to pull out my own deck if I want a reading. 😛

    Hope you have a good time at the diocesan convention.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 8, 2010 3:01 pm

      The tarot site works best in Internet Explorer – it won’t work in Firefox, not sure about Chrome. It is a cool deck, and a pretty extensive reading, I think.

      I hope I have a good time at the diocesan convention too.

  4. Paul (A.) permalink
    January 17, 2010 6:07 pm

    I’ll see you in Cherry Hill, Fluffs (but you’ll probably see me first).

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      January 20, 2010 4:46 pm

      Looking forward to it Paul!

Leave a Reply

