Skip to content

A Dinner Ritual Lifted from Laura on Facebook

December 31, 2009

This is based on the St. Francis Prayer, which is a prayer close to my heart. I’d thought I’d share it with all of you, and I’m sure Laura won’t mind.

Dinner Ritual for Two

All: Loving Spirit, make us instruments of your peace.
One: Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Two: Where there is injury, pardon.
One: Where there is doubt, faith.
Two: Where there is despair, hope.
One: Where there is darkness, light.
Two: Where there is sadness, joy.

One: (lighting a candle) Today I am grateful for _______________ that brought more (love, forgiveness, faith, hope, light, joy) into my life by _____________.

Two: (lighting a candle) Today I am grateful for _______________ that brought more (love, forgiveness, faith, hope, light, joy) into my life by _____________.

One: (lighting another candle) Today I brought more (love, forgiveness, faith, hope, light, joy) into the world by _________________________.

Two: (lighting another candle) Today I brought more (love, forgiveness, faith, hope, light, joy) into the world by _________________________.

One: (lifting a glass to toast) Thank you, Source of all Life, for the fruit of the vine and the water of the worlds that quench our thirst. (All drink.)

Two: (lifting a cracker or piece of bread) Thank you, Source of all Life, for the gifts of soil and toil that feed our bodies and spirits. (All eat.)

All: (joining hands) Thank you for the gift of love. Amen.

I plan to adjust this to use with four for dinner – I think it will lend itself easily.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

