Skip to content

Things I’m praying for…

November 23, 2009

The Episcoblogger community has suffered some losses recently. I’ve noted the death of blogger Klady’s husband Jim+ below, and Larry, over at Renz in the Woods had to put down his beloved doggy Cosmo and my blog friend Kay who blogs at Ephemeral Thoughts also had to put her beloved Calypso down this weekend too! (I have great empathy for any who have to go through this experience. I did it with my cat Yoda, and I remember my whole body shaking, as I made the decision to extinguish his life, feeling that really, that decision should be way above my pay-grade. Three years later, it still brings tears to my eyes.  One of the most difficult decisions I ever had to make.)

Over the weekend, Roseann, from Give Peace a Chance, Please! came to the end of her long and painful battle with kidney disease.  She’d been on hospice about two weeks, and her husband reports she died peacefully and painlessly thanks to the loving care she received through that program.  Please, join me in lighting a virtual candle for the repose of her soul, and for the grief of her husband and champion, Gary.  Heaven has gained a spitfire angel this weekend.

I also learned yesterday, that my EfM mentor’s husband also lost his long battle with illness over the weekend as well.  He’d been in the hospital since the end of June, I believe and had many, many close to death experiences.  He was very sick and suffering.  Please join me in praying for the repose of Tom’s soul, and for the loving comfort of his wife, and my EfM mentor, Donna, who cared for him so lovingly.

Death is always so difficult, but death so close to the holidays is particularly odious to bear.  May God grant strength to those who will be facing the holidays without those they love for the first time – let’s add my cousin Helen here, and also blogger Lisa, who lost her husband Ian last spring.

I’ll also ask for prayers this week for my husband and me.  A year ago this week, events occurred that I thought would bring an end to my marriage.  I have hurt people whom I love, and I’m not sure I’ll ever heal from knowing the damage I’ve caused to them, but I’m trying.  Our marriage is in a better place than it has been in a long, long time, but this is going to be an emotionally difficult week for us both, and the sooner we get through Thanksgiving, the better, so it can be one more hurdle  behind us as we move on in continuing to heal our relationship.

Also, prayers for Grandmere Mimi who is having cataract surgery today.  The first eye was done successfully, and no problems are expected, but, we’ll pray to be sure!

ETA – Julie+ requests prayers for her parishoner Jerrey – who is struggling after having a heart attack.

And Grandmere Mimi’s surgery went well! TBTG!!

All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well. Julian of Norwich.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 11:17 am

    Prayers abounding.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 23, 2009 11:22 am

      Thanks Ann, as always.

  2. November 23, 2009 11:38 am

    It has just been a hard November, all the way around.

    Prayers continue for you and yours, Eileen. Every day. (((Eileen)))

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 23, 2009 12:57 pm

      Yeah..it really has, and right back at you Doxy! (((((Doxy))))

  3. Paul in ABQ permalink
    November 23, 2009 2:03 pm

    Prayers for all mentioned here and right now especially for you and E. ((((((( E&E&family ))))))).

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 23, 2009 4:28 pm

      Thank you and hugs in return Paul!

  4. November 23, 2009 2:48 pm

    Death is always hard. I’ve worked in a church for 8 years and you get to know many of the parishioners very well. We become friends and laugh and joke. Then they become ill and you are afraid for them. And then some have strokes and some die. That’s the hardest part. Lately, it seems like there has been a glut of bad news. Cancer all over the place.

    Four years ago I also held my precious kitty as she died in my arms. That was tough. There’s nothing worse than such innocence slipping away, especially if they’ve been with us for a while.

    And I don’t even want to contemplate the deaths of those I love most in the world. Especially during the holidays. But contemplate I will, because eventually we all face it, hopefully with grace and fond remembrances.

    Prayers and blessings your way.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 23, 2009 4:29 pm

      Yeah…I know what you mean Annie. Thanks for the prayers and blessings..they help us all muddle through together.

  5. Julie+ permalink
    November 23, 2009 9:06 pm

    You remain daily in my prayers, Eileen. And, if I could, I would ask prayers for a parishioner of mine, Jerrey, who is struggling after a heart attack.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 24, 2009 6:25 am

      Thanks Julie, and Jerrey is on my list for prayers. May God grant Jerrey the patience and endurance to deal with this illness and may God surround Jerrey with his healing love.

      • Julie+ permalink
        November 24, 2009 4:39 pm

        Thank you, Eileen. Prayers are working, because this morning his doc treated a potentially serious complication with virtually no trouble at all. TBTG!

      • episcopalifem permalink*
        November 24, 2009 5:14 pm

        Thanks be to God, Julie! I’ll keep Jerrey in my prayers, and may all other procedures go as smoothly!

  6. November 24, 2009 8:43 am

    Prayers all around.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 24, 2009 9:48 am

      Thanks Fran!

  7. November 24, 2009 11:26 am

    ((((((((((((((((((Eileen))))))))))))))))))))))

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      November 24, 2009 11:58 am

      Thanks Kathy…and back at you. ((((((((((Kathy)))))))))))))))))

  8. November 25, 2009 12:26 am

    Eileen, thank you for your prayers, luv. I’ll pray for you and your husband and for all those who have suffered losses.

  9. November 25, 2009 8:50 pm

    Prayers, Eileen, and love to you. Sorry I have been so scarce a presence on the blogs recently. I am taking part of my time off for this Thanksgiving to reconnect! Thank you for naming the dead and the living. This act of memory is sacred. Hugs to you.

  10. November 27, 2009 2:35 am

    I will pray for you too, Eileen. I believe there’s healing for all of us. Eventually. Until then we have hope.

Leave a Reply

