Skip to content

Update on my cousin

October 10, 2009

Mary Beth made it through her surgery well, but she is in ICU, and her brain is still quite swollen.  It will be several days before any damage to her brain can be assessed – the aneurysm was apparently deep and her surgery was quite invasive, so there are concerns about her vision and possible cognitive functions.  Her doctors report she is young and strong though, and so they have hope she will make a full recovery.

Many thanks to those of you who have been praying for her.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2009 9:14 pm

    It’s been another week. An update would be appreciated, for those of us who prayed for the brain surgeon to have a emotionally-untroubled day for her surgery.

    It seems unfair to those he operated on, on other days, so I feel a little guilty. I refuse to ask God to help my team in athletic contests for that reason.

    A dozen years ago, a neurosurgeon did an emergency fusion on my backbone at 2 AM Saturday morning on a 3-day weekend. He wasn’t just sober; I lucked out and got someone I later found out to be the most brilliant neurosurgeon in the midwest.

    I’ve died twice, and gone through this as well. I tried to deny it for years, but obviously, God has plans for me. I talk to her daily, and mostly ask questions. Who am I to ask favors? But the answers I end up with are very unpopular notions.

    The prophets were espousing unpopular notions as well. A false prophet does little harm. He teaches the gullible to be less easily gulled. But a true prophet? Robert A. Heinlein said he should be killed on sight, as a social destabilizer. More and more, I think Heinlein was right.

    If someday, you read that I’ve been assassinated, write the president and ask him to award the assassin a medal for his great patriotic duty.

    But in the meanwhile, tell us how Mary Beth is doing. I’ve never met her, and I don’t know why I care, but I do. Perhaps God has plans for her as well, the poor thing.

Leave a Reply

