Skip to content

Eschatology – Ok…soo….

July 24, 2009

I’m reading Jurgen Moltmann’s The Coming of God. This is a dense theological book about eschatology, which is so dense I probably have no business reading it.

But that has never stopped me before…

So..I’m reading about personal eschatology – you know – what will happen when, as we are to taught to believe, the resurrection of the body occurs – the life of the world to come…And it got me to thinking. (Dangerous, I know…)

IF we are all raised bodily – you know – all these good dead Christians, Jews, and some others who will unwittingly make themselve eligible for the parousia by virture of leading a more Christian life than most Christians – Exactly wtf is it that we are all going to live? Hmmm??? Earth is already fairly over populated with the living. What the hell are we going to do if suddenly, bodily resurrection occurs, and beings in their whole, with their Gestalt spiritual AND physical needs, are now pulling on the earth’s meager resources. What then? HMMM???

I mean…A LOT of people who called themselves Christians have died. Even if only a small percentage of them get resurrected…that’s likely a HUGE number.

So…that’s where I am with that. Y’all can carry on now.

ETA: Rick thinks maybe we’ll all come back tiny…like Liliputians! (bwahahahahaa!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    July 24, 2009 1:52 pm

    bodily resurrection sure has a problem as you note. I’m not thinkin’ it’s too likely myself. I rather favor a spiritual one. Unless that is we are being recycled. That would make God one smart eco-friendly deity.

    Good luck with Moltmann. I’ve never been able to penetrate the German theologians. 🙂

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 24, 2009 2:13 pm

    You can see by the evidence of this post exactly how well it’s going for me!

  3. July 24, 2009 3:15 pm

    Perhaps we’ll come back much smaller. After all, he did say, “Low I will be with you always.”

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      July 24, 2009 3:21 pm

      BWAHAHAHAHA!!! I love that…

      I guess it could be..like Liliputians!

  4. July 26, 2009 9:57 am

    You could always take the JW position, which is that only a very small percentage of humanity will be allowed to continue to live. After all is said and done, by their calculations (and morbid hopes), each human family should have about an acre of usable land.

    Yes, I have JW issues (since I used to be one). 😉

  5. July 26, 2009 4:59 pm

    I never worried much about the space problem. I have contemplated how well everyone would get along. Where there are two there is a difference of opinion on something. And at what age? Would every person be happy with the age they are when they come back? Either we won’t know what is happening so it won’t matter or I seriously doubt it will resemble what humans might consider “heaven”. I was obnoxious in Sunday School.

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      July 29, 2009 5:24 am

      I wasn’t obnoxious enough in Sunday School…I’m trying to make up for it now!

  6. Nubby permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:45 pm

    Being dense as a post myself, I can sincerely appreciate not being able to decipher German theology. I had a difficult enough time in college figuring out whether or not the chair I was sitting in truly existed or did I just drop too much ACID that afternoon!!!????? Anyway,I think Hanna-Barbera, about 30 years ago, entertained the same question (while tripping their asses off) and said,”what if we all lived in the sky? There would be plenty of room for everyone, we could be environmentally friendly with low emission space vehicles, and replicate all our food needs! So became the story of the Jetsons…George ,Judy ,Jane,and Elroy!…it worked for them!

    • episcopalifem permalink*
      July 29, 2009 5:18 am

      Great…now I’m wondering about scooping Astro’s poop in space, and how that will impact the universe!

      Swats you!

Leave a Reply

