Skip to content

A little something, inspired by life and reading (or I spend too much time in my own head)

July 9, 2009

morning1
Dark Things

I regard
The darkness
And see myself
Staring back
From deep within
Its shadows.
All the parts I’d
forced
behind the veil.

The dark things
– the unmentionables:
My sinuous sexuality
My blazing jealousy
My furtive deceitfulness
My impulsivity
My laziness
My rage
My sanctimony
My sins
All there
Carefully placed.
Hidden but not gone,
No matter how deep
The shadow into which
They’re pushed.

Not detracting
Nor summating.
But me nonetheless.
Uneasily me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul (A.) permalink
    July 10, 2009 2:02 am

    Dear heart, don’t even think of reading the poems of Stephen Crane.

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 10, 2009 6:08 am

    Now Paul – as a parent, you know you should NEVER give an admonishment to NOT do a thing if you really think that thing shouldn’t be done…you’ve gone and guaranteed I’ll be re-reading some Crane.

    Unless that is exactly what you meant to do…

    Oh….nevermind! Laughs

  3. July 10, 2009 8:59 am

    I like this!

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 10, 2009 9:44 am

    Thanks Bad Alice!

Leave a Reply

