Skip to content

Random Quotes for Today

June 2, 2009

For whatever else the religious life may be, it is the fountain of self-knowledge and disillusion, the safest form of psychoanalysis. CS Lewis

…cough..cough…bullshit

Words uttered only cause confusion. Words written only cause history.
American Proverb of the Day.

…possibly

The worst taint is ignorance. Destroy this one taint and become taintless. – Buddha

…probably (Only, I thought taint was an anatomical place…right? I suppose it could be fairly bad to be ignorant of the taint…)

There is no calamity greater than lavish desires.
There is no greater guilt than discontentment.
And there is no greater disaster than greed.
Lao-tzu (604 BC – 531 BC), The Way of Lao-tzu

I’m familiar with this…

Discouragement is simply the despair of wounded self-love.
Francois de Fenelon (1651 – 1715)

With this too…

How my achievements mock me!
William Shakespeare (1564 – 1616), Troilus and Cressida, Act IV

And this one too…

…as long as I am free from all resentment, hardness and scorn, I would be able to face the life with much more calm and confidence than I would were my body in purple and fine linen, and the soul within me sick with hate.

And I really shall have no difficulty. When you really want love you will find it waiting for you. Oscar Wilde, De Profundis
Wishing to God I could get there.

The actual tragedies of life bear no relation to one’s preconceived ideas. In the event, one is always bewildered by their simplicity, their grandeur of design, and by that element of the bizzare which seems inherent in them.
Jean Cocteau, Les Enfants Terribles

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 1:47 pm

    It taint called that; that’s just a bad joke. It’s the perineum.

    One of the great mysteries of alt.folklore.urban-legend is the origin of “the whole nine yards”. The latest theory has to do with a poem from the Alaskan gold rush, involving Rangy Lil. I knew I liked the poetry of Robert Service, but I wasn’t aware that he had geographical competition.

Leave a Reply

