Skip to content

Something aggravating me today

April 14, 2009

I read a book review on NPR today on Kay Jamison’s Unquiet Mind at You Must Read This.  I read this book a few years ago, and I have to agree with the book reviewer – Jamison does an excellent job of describing what her experience has been like with bi-polar disorder.  It’s a terrible thing to suffer with – and as I have a mild form of it, I should know. I haven’t experienced even a 1/4 of what Jamison has, but I can relate to a tremendous amount of what she has written.  Flight of ideas, hypomania, in my case, little need for sleep, total distractability, etc.  Then at some point, a low that is like being in a cocoon.

Then I read this statement in the comments to the review, and I got all aggravated:

Aaron Lilly (Arrowlight) wrote:

Call me rediculous if you want, or someone who just dismisses things like this, but I cannot help but find bi-polar to be near pathetic,
I find too often the young mind that attempts to excape responcibility by simply stating
“I’m bi-polar”, insted of something that you hear about now and then, it seems more and more people are gravitating to this diagnosys for a “solve all” “you can’t hold me responsible” clause. Regardless to whether one believes this is an actual disease/ailment there are way too many who claim this as a part of themselves in order to allow themselves to become absolved from responsibility, there is something wrong will all of is, it is those of us who refuse to be “held down” by our “ailments” who will succeed and overcome.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009 11:47:47 AM

The fact that this kind of ignorance still shows it’s face so proudly blows my mind.  Talk about acting like an immature asshat, and letting the whole world see by opening your mouth and proclaiming it proudly!

No wonder people don’t want to seek help for their problems. I mean, after all, it’s just immaturity. Rolls my eyes.

That dude’s ignorance is showing, big time.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 5:30 pm

    Thank you.

    I’m a gimp, but most days, I don’t have much trouble getting around due to that. On the other hand, my PTSD, clinical depression, and agoraphobia can be incredibly difficult to deal with.

    The last time I was in the rehab hospital, they issued me a “grabber” to help get things off the floor. I’m beginning to think that instead of issuing those, they should issue 12-pound sledges. You could pound on glass doors, when the management is too bleeping lazy to unlock half of the door. Someone with a walker or wheelchair could pound on the plate glass front window when it’s impossible to climb the steps and there’s no ramp. You could pound on the skull of the bureaucrat when she makes unreasonable demands.

    Reasonable accomodation isn’t just a good idea. It’s been the law of the land for nearly two decades. Walk down any street, though, and you’ll find lots of places where broken sidewalks or lack of ramps at the corner make it impossible for someone in a wheelchair to pass.

    I don’t need a wheelchair, but I have dropfoot, and a tall curb is impossible for me to climb. As a result, I end up walking down the center of the street. I’ve had cops stop, and order me to use the sidewalk; I tell them when they fix the sidewalks to comply with federal law, I will be able to. They get nasty sometimes, but I can get nasty, too. And that’s when I most wish I was carrying a 12-pound sledge. A broken windshield isn’t that expensive to fix – but I bet I could get local TV stations to ask questions of the police that would embarrass the bleep out of them.

  2. April 14, 2009 8:11 pm

    I wonder what excuse Aaron Lilly (Arrowlight) has for his deplorable grammar and spelling?

    Will he cop to ignorance or laziness? Or will he say “I’m dyslexic” or “I have a learning disability”? Or will he simply blame it on others (teachers, parents, society)?

    Inquiring minds want to know….

  3. April 15, 2009 5:10 am

    I agree with you regarding the reviewer’s belief that mental illness is down to immaturity. But, I actually agree with him on his point that people claim to have serious mental illnesses like manic depression, in order to excuse themselves and impress others. The rise of this phenomenon over recent years has made the lives of those suffering from acute mental health problems more difficult. Not only are the psychiatric services over-burdened with people who could be just as well helped by a counsellor, g.p. priest or good friend, making the services less accessible for those who really need medical intervention, but it also makes the clinically ill subject to humour and derision.

  4. April 15, 2009 5:13 am

    Of course, the above is the English experience. In the US you have the added ingredient of psychiatrists being paid more the more people they declare mad and medicate.

  5. April 26, 2009 12:49 am

    As usual, I agree with you, Doxy, and even MP. That guy is an ass. I am sorry you had to read that.

Leave a Reply

