Skip to content

Today is a happy day…it’s my J2’s Birthday!!!

April 2, 2009

acolyte-festival-006

Eight years ago today, I was on my first day of maternity leave. J1 was sick as a dog, so I carted him off to the pediatrician’s and dragged him around picking up prescriptions. Then I went grocery shopping, thinking I’d make and freeze a lasagna, bought all kinds of extra soda, you know for the company the new baby would bring. Dragged the sick 3 year old, and 15 or so bags of groceries up and down the front steps to my house, and the inside steps up to the kitchen, you know, like 10 times.

Was in labor all day, and in denial.

Nope..not having this baby on my first day of maternity leave. Not with J1 so sick.

J2 was born at about 10:17pm. It was a quick labor. I have no complaints.

Just, wtf did those 8 years go?

Happy birthday to my little lady love. Hugs, kisses, MWAAAAAAAAH!


J2 and friends at last night’s soup supper at church.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:54 am

    Before you know it you will be packing her off for her first day at college and then marriage, etc. The time sure does go quickly. Take it from the mother of three 35, 32, 28, it was just yesterday that I put the 35 yr. old on the kindergarten bus and cried my eyes out as the bus left the corner and now he is the father of two.

  2. April 2, 2009 11:06 am

    And she looks like you! Happy day to you both and to Mr. J1 the big brother!

  3. April 2, 2009 6:49 pm

    Happy Birthday, J2! Eight is a GREAT age! šŸ™‚

    Eileen … So glad to meet you! I read your beautiful note on my blog and came right here. Bless you.

    What amazing minds and souls are in the world, eh?

    I’m really absorbing through the stupor, on this first day after Roo’s death, Thomas Merton’s prayer that you’ve got on the sidebar … “I have no idea where I am going …” (gulp) … but yesterday, on Roo’s dying-day, my eyes fell on their first green shoots of this Spring. We know nothing … but Love.

    Roo’s gone … Love remains.

    P.S. Mary Oliver’s poem “The Journey”? … YES šŸ™‚

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    April 2, 2009 8:40 pm

    ((((((Jaliya)))))) Welcome!

    Yes..Merton is amazing. I still have no idea where I’m going..and I guess, ultimately, I never will – I just have to keep practicing that trust thing!

    And Mary Oliver is the bomb…

    God’s peace to you…I know the ache of the loss of a pet. I’ve had to deal with the loss of two kittehs in the past four years – one 11 and one 16. It’s hard. No two ways about it.

    But you are right of course…the spring still comes..and brings life back to the world – in the face of death.

    Blesssings.

  5. April 2, 2009 9:34 pm

    What a beautiful girl! Abundant blessings upon her in the year ahead.

  6. April 3, 2009 7:09 am

    Beautiful. She looks rather like you! Blessings and more blessings and then even more blessings upon you all.

  7. April 4, 2009 3:48 pm

    J2 is adorable! Happy B-day…

  8. episcopalifem permalink*
    April 6, 2009 11:56 am

    Thank you all! She had a great birthday party…and yeah…she’s a keeper!

  9. April 6, 2009 8:12 pm

    She’s adorable. šŸ™‚

  10. susan s. permalink
    April 11, 2009 4:31 pm

    How did I miss this? Lord love her, she’s gorgeous! (Sp?)

Leave a Reply

