Skip to content

Book club book this month

March 17, 2009

I just finished reading The Shack for book club this month. I was resisting reading this book, because it was just one of those books that I kept hearing about. “Oh, you have got to read that!” or “Oh, I hated it.”

The premise pretty much also put me off – the story of a man struggling to find God after the senseless and awful death of his child just didn’t appeal to me.

I  finally read it for book club this month.  And I’m glad, because rather than being a depressing story,  I found it to  really be a story about healing.

A story I really need right now, as I struggle with many of my personal demons.

To think that God is especially fond of me, and of you, and of us all, is particularly comforting to me now – even if it might be hokey, and maybe I’m skeptical about a God in the sky who really is focused on me.

So, in a sobbing, goopy mess of tears, I finished this book today.

And yeah, even though it may be sappy, I think I’m better for it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 2:53 pm

    I’m so glad you read this book at a time when it could really speak to you, and a time when you were happy to receive the message. It means so much when you feel alone and unloved to _get_ that you are a particular favorite! Hugs and prayers for you, E.

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    March 17, 2009 3:36 pm

    Thanks L!

  3. March 20, 2009 2:07 am

    (((((Eileen))))

    XOXO
    Jane (who hasn’t come by enough these days, sorry)

  4. March 20, 2009 2:08 am

    Drat, that cat of mine changed the identity line again. Well, you know that was from me since I signed it. I have GOT to get that feline bishop away from the computer. Not that I have any control over her since I am only her humble and obedient canon.

Leave a Reply

