Skip to content

Reflection I’m reflecting on…

November 15, 2008

My happiness is me, not you.
Not only because you may be temporary,
But also because you want me to be what I am not.

I cannot be happy when I change
Merely to satisfy your selfishness.
Nor can I feel content when you criticize me for not
Thinking your thoughts,
Or for seeing like you do.
You can call me a rebel.

And yet each time I have rejected your beliefs
You have rebelled against mine.
I do not try to mold your mind.
I know you are trying hard enough to be just you.
And I cannot allow you to tell me what to be…
To prove to yourself who you are?
– Virginia Satir

We must not allow other people’s limited perceptions to define us.
– Virginia Satir

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2008 10:56 am

    God bless you. You remain in our prayers.

  2. November 15, 2008 11:17 am

    That is so pertinent. I’m glad you posted it.

    I’m still thinking of you and praying for you too.

  3. November 15, 2008 11:25 am

    Boy, does THAT sound familiar….

    Prayers from down South, dear one.

  4. Metella permalink
    November 15, 2008 2:56 pm

    I’m with Doxy– way too familiar! Prayers ascending.

    I cannot imagine that God wants you to be anyone but you. People who try to change someone’s fundamental personality are only being selfish. They do not have your best interests at heart.

  5. Sherry permalink
    November 15, 2008 2:57 pm

    Such a powerful statement, and so relevant I suspect to the difficulties you are enduring. You are in my prayers Eileen.

  6. susan s. permalink
    November 15, 2008 3:27 pm

    (((((Eileen)))))

  7. November 15, 2008 7:01 pm

    ….and yet self is an extension of semblance

  8. November 15, 2008 7:05 pm

    Oh wow. I’m speechless. Prayers for you on this journey.

  9. November 15, 2008 7:19 pm

    I’m checking here every day because you are in my thoughts and prayers. And the quotes from Satir are right on!

    Remember Marlo Thomas’ program Free to Be You and Me? Ever relevant.

  10. episcopalifem permalink*
    November 15, 2008 8:15 pm

    thank you all. ((((((Hugs you all)))))))

  11. November 17, 2008 5:05 pm

    What everyone else said (I’m in an agreeable mood today) 😉

  12. November 25, 2008 12:32 am

    Eileen, prayers for you, love.

Leave a Reply

