Skip to content

HAPPEE BIRFDAY to me!

September 8, 2008


I just liked this party hat, and I’m celebrating my 39th – and yes – it really IS my 39th!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2008 10:22 am

    ((((((E)))))))

    May God
    grant you always …
    A sunbeam,
    to warm you,
    A moonbeam,
    to charm you,
    A sheltering angel
    So nothing
    can harm you …
    Laughter,
    to cheer you
    Faithful friends,
    near you
    And whenever you pray,
    Heaven to hear you.

    an Irish Blessing

  2. September 8, 2008 10:37 am

    Happy Birthday, you sweet, young thing, you 😉

  3. September 8, 2008 11:54 am

    Thirty-nine? Ahh, the fleeting beauty of youth. When I was 39, I was an evangelical boy and completely heterosexual.

    I think that’s my way of telling you the best is yet to come.

    Happy birthday!

  4. September 8, 2008 12:47 pm

    Happy birthday
    Happy birthday
    May the candles on your cake
    Burn like cities in your wake

    Happy Birthday
    Happy birthday
    Now that you’re the age you are
    Death can not be very far

    Happy birthday
    Happy birthday
    Hear the women wail and weep
    Kill them all, but spare the sheep

    Happy birthday
    Happy birthday
    Indigestion’s what you get
    From the enemies you ‘et

    Happy birthday
    Happy birthday
    May your deeds with sheep and yaks
    Equal those with sword and axe

    Happy birthday
    Happy birthday
    This one lesson you must learn
    First you pillage, then you burn

    …figured I’d bring out the Birthday Dirge…to the tune of the Volga Boatmen. More to be found here.

    Enjoy yourself. 🙂

  5. Sherry permalink
    September 8, 2008 1:14 pm

    Merry Merry day of happiness on this your especial day. LOL. Have a great one, and many more to come. So glad you are leaving youth behind! It’s so much better on this the other side.

  6. Doxy permalink
    September 8, 2008 1:44 pm

    Happy Birthday, dear one! What Donald said.

    (((Eileen)))

  7. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 8, 2008 2:06 pm

    (((((((All of you)))))))

  8. September 8, 2008 2:38 pm

    Happy Happy Happy Happy Happy Happy Happy Happy Happy Happy
    Birthday to you!!!!

    39 is great. 40 is better. I loved 50. I will let you now about 51 when I get there in a couple of months!

    I like that you live out loud.

  9. susan s. permalink
    September 8, 2008 2:56 pm

    Well, I did remember! Happy Birfday, Girl!!

  10. warriormare permalink
    September 8, 2008 4:13 pm

    Happee Birfday, Grrrl! 😀 Hope the last year of not-quite-yet-middle-age is a splendiferous one for you!

    Love and blessings and big happy hugs,
    hedwyg

  11. September 8, 2008 4:39 pm

    Happy Bday, Ms. Eileen!!! Hope your day is simply beautiful. Get it shawty!

  12. klady permalink
    September 8, 2008 5:17 pm

    Happy, Joyous, and Marvelous Birthday to you!

  13. September 8, 2008 5:26 pm

    Today? Really and truly?

    Happy Berfday, then, Eileen!

  14. susankay permalink
    September 8, 2008 6:04 pm

    Yes — it just keeps getting better. Happy Day.

  15. September 8, 2008 8:24 pm

    Happy Happy Joy Joy!
    Happy Birthday girl!!!
    Now you can stop counting….my mom has been 39 for 44 years. 😉

  16. September 8, 2008 10:18 pm

    Just stopped by to say hello – and what! Happy Birthday! Marvelous year ahead. My medicine cards say you will use discernment and courage to make your dreams happen. I say in my own words of age 39, “Keep on trucking, Mama…..”

  17. September 8, 2008 10:54 pm

    If you were closer to Newark I’d invite you to a belated birthday supper hopefully with one or more other folks Friday evening. I’ll be on my way to Salzburg. Of course you are welcome even if it is inconvenient!

  18. September 9, 2008 1:18 pm

    Happy one-day-late birthday to you
    Happy one-day-late birthday to you
    Happy one-day-late birthday dear Eileen…

    …happy one-day-late birthday to you!

    (How old were you then, how old were you then, etc.)

    ((((((((Eileen))))))))

  19. September 9, 2008 5:48 pm

    Happy happy birthday… yesterday. Sorry I am off by a day! Hope it was really neat!

  20. September 10, 2008 2:58 pm

    and I’m two days off…but one is never off by far when saluting a VIRGO on her Happy Birthday!

    VIRGOS FOREVER!

  21. September 11, 2008 8:08 pm

    Oh, Ms. Fluffy Fabulosa, I MISSED your b’day and I think I even wrote you an e-mail around then and did not note it. So sorry! I hope it was happy and worthy of you! XOXOXO Jane (and +Maya Pavlova)

  22. September 18, 2008 11:30 pm

    Oh, Fluffs! How could I go and miss such a major event? Surely a first-class feast with first vespers!

    [Now, how did the Opening Preces go?]

    V. It’s Eileen’s fault.
    R. O felix culpa!

    Make the celebration last as long as you can. I believe a month is seemly.

    Happy hugs!

Leave a Reply

