Skip to content

Back from Vaycayshun

August 28, 2008

Well..it took us 12 hours to make an 8 1/2 hour trip, due to a suggested “new way” that was out of the way to begin with, and well, getting lost getting to the new way. We had good weather, and a magnificent visit with my family. E unfortunately sprained his ankle VERY badly last Wednesday, so that 12 hours of driving nightmare was all mine. I was beginning to feel like I was in a twilight zone episode where you drive and drive and drive, but can never get out of this loop that sucks you into VT and NH. Beautiful scenery, but, not very close to NJ. Here’s where we stayed – at E’s family home – been in the family since the mid 40’s. It’s a pretty spot, and at one point, 16 of us were staying there. Here’s what I saw when looking out the kitchen window each day while doing the dishes! And the ducks were really, really friendly this year. Practically jumping up in the kids laps to be fed. Kids had a blast. See…. And here’s me and my girls…

My mom, me, my cousin Eileen, my aunt Susan, and my favorite cousin Trisha. We ROOOLZ! (notice the Maine Attire!)

My mom, me, my cousin Eileen, my aunt Susan, and my favorite cousin Trisha. We ROOOLZ! (notice the Maine Attire!)

So – we had a blast – ate lobster (32 of them), drank beer, and wine (a lot of it) and enjoyed the great company. But I’m glad to be home..even if it did take FOREVER to get here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2008 9:53 pm

    Welcome back! (((((((E))))))))

  2. August 28, 2008 10:11 pm

    Looks fabby although that drive… Once I had a hell-drive back from Maine to Nyack, when I lived there. A long days journey into night…

    Anyway – you all look so damn cute and like you are so much fun! I love it!

    You were missed! Welcome back.

  3. August 29, 2008 7:41 pm

    Welcome back. It looks like you had fun.

  4. August 30, 2008 10:00 am

    WELCOME BACK! Missed you!!!

    Glad you had a great time.

  5. August 30, 2008 11:00 am

    Awww MAN! The scenery looks beautiful! I’m jealous 😉

    Got to take a vacation to New England one of these days…

  6. August 30, 2008 4:05 pm

    Looks like a great visit, and Eileen the Intrepid made it back to Joisey despite all obstacles: yea!

  7. August 31, 2008 9:15 pm

    Glad you had a good time, Twilight Zone journey and all!

    This week we’re off to one our local islands for some R&R and looking forward to that.

  8. susan s. permalink
    September 1, 2008 1:05 pm

    Glad you’re back safe and somewhat sound, Eileen 😉 You look relaxed in the pictures! The better to deal with a different route home.

    I personally can’t envision spending that much time with my sibs. Each of us knows more than the next, and religion would be more than discussed, never mind politics!

  9. September 2, 2008 8:56 pm

    WELCOME BACK. Ain’t vacation GREAT?

Leave a Reply

