Skip to content

The only thing I’ll say about Lambeth

July 30, 2008

is that it’s depressing the FUCK out of me, and I can’t wait for it to be over, so I can go back into my deluded little world, where Christians you know, act Christlike, and don’t beat their wives, and/or work to keep marginalized people marginalized.

And all this talk about the “centre” is making me woozy and wanting to puke.

Lots of other blogs have coherent information on all these doings, I’m just venting.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2008 1:07 pm

    Vent away. I’m about to give up on reading about it. It just makes me angry.

  2. July 30, 2008 1:31 pm

    I don’t know how y’all manage to remain patient. If MY religious leaders were acting like some of the folks at Lambeth, I think I’d snap.

  3. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 30, 2008 1:43 pm

    Because, on a certain level Jarred, they are irrelevant to me.

    Ruth – I hear ya.

  4. Holly permalink
    July 30, 2008 2:24 pm

    Oh, Eileen, me too. I have tried so long to be patient, to be steadfast in the face of adversity, to believe that even small steps can eventually bring change, but I find myself just too tired to do anything any more. Why do I keep trying to give my gifts to a church that doesn’t want me? What on earth do all these squabbling, red-robed men (mostly) have to do with Jesus? I’m sick of compromise and complacency; How can anyone whose soul has been singed by the Gospel put up with all this anymore?

  5. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 30, 2008 2:40 pm

    I dunno Holly – except that it would really make things way too comfy for the red-robed asshats if we suddenly bailed, and I don’t think that’s good either.

    If we are tired, we should rest. Rejuvenate. And return when we can.

  6. July 30, 2008 3:36 pm

    Following my “Mark as Read Any Blog That Comes Through the Reader and Mentions the L Word” philosophy, this almost got marked read.

    Considering the stress at work (on top of which is the fact that I’m worried I might not have a job here soon), the stress at home (wherein my landlord/roommate’s boyfriend has apparently moved in), I’m finding it a good policy for my blood pressure.

    Matter of fact, I thought The L Word was over. I must have been thinking of ComiCon.

  7. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 30, 2008 4:14 pm

    ComiCon – Lambeth – same difference. Lambeth even has a clown tent!

    Somehow, though, I betcha ComiCon was sooooo much more fun.

    Aren’t you glad you didn’t pass this one up MarySue?

  8. July 30, 2008 5:39 pm

    I keep trying to be hopeful that the bishops are too individually concerned to support anything that might cause them problems in the long run. If GAFCON disapproves, it can’t be all bad.

    PS After accidentally deleting my blog, I have a new one.

  9. Phoebe K permalink
    July 30, 2008 7:42 pm

    I agree; I’ve stopped reading. It just makes me furious. As a lesbian it seems so obvious to welcome Bishop Robinson and use the US church’s advances to further the causes of GLBT people in the entire communion. I just can’t understand the hatred.

    And don’t get me started about the spineless ABC…

  10. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 30, 2008 8:19 pm

    Pseudo..I’m hoping you are right…and I’ve got your “new” place linked, keeping my fingers crossed that Blogger can help you out to get your blog back.

    Phoebe – Welcome…and I’m sorry for you pain. Stay here and we can say fuck together and shake our heads over the clueless, I mean, ++Rowan.

  11. July 30, 2008 9:38 pm

    Eileen, it is so nice have a place to say “fuck!” I was just looking at the ++Rowan and translating it into words, viz., double cross Rowan. And that is what I feel he had done to those who took hope at his appointment to Canterbury. Brilliant he no doubt is, but I don’t think he really sees the bloody corpses lying about.

    While some bishops report glimpses of hope here and there I have found this to be a very depressing week. I always dread it when church people gather for anything other than worship or doing justice and I have plenty of historical evidence to justify that dread.

    Hang in there. God, and we, are bigger than Lambeth.

  12. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 30, 2008 9:56 pm

    Paul – I know. All that hope, FLUSHED down the tubes.

    Double cross indeed.

    FEH.

    But you are right – God is way bigger, and I do take hope in that.

  13. July 31, 2008 7:27 am

    Agrees. It’s grim.

  14. July 31, 2008 9:21 am

    I agree, oh adorable & charming hostess.

    And I’d given up on Rowan the Spineless a long time ago. All this Lambeth brouhaha just confirms my suspicions 😛

    So how do we get the “wishy-washy middle” group of Episcopal bishops to realize the AC is a painful farce, politely bid it farewell, and put all the ginormous piles of money we send them to better use ? (like Episcopal Relief and Development ?)

  15. August 3, 2008 4:24 am

    Yep.
    All of it.

Leave a Reply

