Skip to content

This little article made me LOL…

June 27, 2008

My Red Self by Jenny Russell at Sadie Magazine (read hip, ultra-feminista)

Men will likely not appreciate this little article that rants about the marketing issues of feminine hygiene products, and the ridiculousness of how the products get touted as “small” and “quiet”. First off – we can’t imagine women of a certain age get a period; second off, we would be embarassed as hell to be in a stall and have people “hear” us unwrapping it. Here’s a smattering…

A lot of television commercials tell you how their product will help you keep your period a secret from everyone, as if it weren’t just sort of a given that if you’re a woman of a certain age that you presumably menstruate every now and then. I remember the big thing with OB was that the tampons didn’t have applicators, and were small enough to fit in your pocket. That way, you didn’t have to take your purse with you to the bathroom because if you did, then everyone would know that you had your period. I’m surprised they didn’t develop OB-tampon-pocket-privacy-cases because presumably, if their ad campaign were really successful, then even the Chapstick-shaped bulge in your pocket would be too embarrassing for people to bear.

I’ve noticed that a lot of commercials for pads and tampons advertise a “quiet wrapper” too. Like anybody is going to comment on the crinkling of paper coming from your stall in a public restroom. “What’s that sound in there? Are you opening a candy bar?” Silence. “Is it a Snickers?” I’ve heard people argue that the quieter wrappers might help to keep girls who’ve recently gotten their first periods from being embarrassed while at school. No time is a good time to start being embarrassed about your body and how it works. That time spent ducking through the hallways, trying to avoid seeing anyone while on your way to change your tampon is time that is completely wasted.

For those of you who never heard of the menstrual cup here’s a link to DivaCup – alternative to pads and tampons, and good for the environment. The things you don’t learn on the intertubes!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2008 6:07 pm

    What period?????

  2. June 27, 2008 7:51 pm

    OK the cup thing just freaks me out!

    Kay to fellow sales rep at the store I work at: “Hey Angie can you watch for customers while I run off the the ladies room for a sec? I have to dump my cup.”

    Ewwww. 😀

  3. susan s. permalink
    June 27, 2008 9:52 pm

    I am so glad I am old!

    As Kay said…Ewwww.

  4. June 28, 2008 3:54 am

    This was really funny. Thanks Eileen.

    Actually the cup thing sounds like a good idea (and only needs to be emptied every 12-24 hours, so it usually can be cared for at home). I just wonder about the silicone.

    Whatever, not my problem anymore (well, hardly ever). But it’s interesting watching my daughter deal with the whole thing. I’m afraid I missed the quiet wrapper feature. How bizarre.

    One of the many odd things I love about my husband is that he is the only man I’ve ever known who has no problem buying feminine hygiene products — plops them into the grocery cart right on top for the whole world to see. Women menstruate. Just part of life.

  5. June 28, 2008 3:48 pm

    Kathy,

    you know another one; the only issue I ever had was making sure I got the one my daughter wanted. (BCP: Before Cell Phones)

  6. June 28, 2008 7:00 pm

    I remember using menstrual cups when I was much younger. Seemed easier than carrying Tampax. I do not remember why I stopped.

    The most important point this article made is this: No time is a good time to start being embarrassed about your body and how it works. If we can teach our daughters anything, it should be that. What happens is natural and expected, so hold your head high.

  7. July 1, 2008 9:58 pm

    Grrl,

    I nose it’s session weekend, but take a break; Missy tagged U hours ago. you lazy creature.

    I, of course, am too old for “Tunez”, at least any yew guyz recognize. Whas this “Death Cab for Cutie” biz?

  8. July 1, 2008 10:31 pm

    Salute to johnieB for shopping for your daughter, even BCP!

  9. July 2, 2008 6:45 pm

    I finally had time to come back to this.

    My presumption is that it’s impossible to teach girls to not be embarrassed by their body. Just good luck with that one. It’s a very nice thought, but unless we all abandon American culture and move to wonder woman island, it ain’t happening. If someone is lucky enough to not be embarrassed, it’s something they’ve grown into after many years. Like after menopause or something. Don’t you guys remember middle school at all? Kids can be viscious. Yes, I’ve been a cynic since I was 12–If only Jenny Russell were in charge of the world…

    The diva cup is not bad–I’ve got one. I tried instead first and that led me to the “greener” version.

    Now on the subject of muzic–oh johnieb you must listen to death cab for cutie. Check out styrofoam plates…

    And good on ya for saving your daughter the embarrassment 😉

  10. July 2, 2008 9:02 pm

    Anybody remember the “menstrual sponge”? It was natural sea sponge that you could rinse out and use again and again.

    Nah, nobody here is THAT old!

  11. July 2, 2008 10:10 pm

    Stop that cracklin’ in the next stall! Some of us are tryin’ to pee!

    I know, first time I show up here in weeks and that’s all I’ve got.

  12. susan s. permalink
    July 4, 2008 4:30 pm

    Yes Mother Kaeton, although I never used one, I heard about it during the time it was used by others. I am THAT old! :o)

  13. susan s. permalink
    July 6, 2008 8:16 pm

    Eileen, are you OK?

Leave a Reply

