Skip to content

My favorite jersey guy on working with my favorite Comedian from Queens

June 24, 2008

‘A God Who Cussed’

Director Kevin Smith remembers George Carlin

Kevin Smtih talks about how he came to love the cult of George Carlin, and what it was like to meet and work with his idol, in an essay in Newsweek.

What I quickly discovered was that, in real life, George was, well, George. Far from a self-obsessed jerk, he was mild-mannered enough to be my Dad. He was as interested as he was interesting, well-read and polite to a fault—all while casually dropping F-bombs. But most impressive, he didn’t treat me like an audience member, eschewing actual conversation, electing instead to simply perform the whole meeting, more “on” than real. He talked to me like one of my friends would talk to me: familiar, unguarded, authentic.
…He was, and will likely remain, the smartest person I’ve ever met. But really, he was much more than just a person. Without a hint of hyperbole, I can say he was a god, a god who cussed.

Now, I know ladies are not supposed to like adolescent, male, sophomoric humor, but Clerks and Dogma were two of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen – so I totally heart Kevin Smith. (Maybe it’s due to the fact that grew up surrounded by a bunch of guys, so it was either hang or be alone? Or maybe I just like male adolescent humor? or MAYBE I’m just not a lady..take your pick!) That Kevin Smith loves and appreciates the same things about George as I do, makes me love Kevin Smith even more. So, it’s a love fest for me, tinged with sadness about George.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2008 12:46 pm

    Or it could be a Jersey thing. 😉

  2. June 24, 2008 1:24 pm

    I heart Kevin too. I absolutely loved Dogma.

  3. June 24, 2008 5:57 pm

    i admit it, i’m in the “i heart Kevin” category, too. Dogma’s one of my favorite movies, much to the dismay of my beloved!

  4. June 30, 2008 9:44 am

    It could be those reasons… or it could just be that they are great films

Leave a Reply

