Skip to content

The Moodna Viaduct

June 2, 2008

Paul, over at Byzigenous Buddapalian, got me to reminiscing about a sense of place. I’ve lived in NJ, in my current county, far longer than I have lived anywhere else. But when my heart thinks of “home” it thinks of the Hudson Valley in New York, where I lived for 11 years from the time I was four until I was a freshman in high school.

To this day, when I see this sight, I find myself catching my breath, and feeling utterly filled with calm and peace, and smelling the smells of the fall or summer, and hearing the sounds I associate with my childhood.

So I’ll share with you this picture of the Moodna Viaduct, which we drove under every time we had to go to the grocery store.

Isn’t it pretty? I just love that sight.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2008 10:00 pm

    Thanks for sharing your sensory memories and a photo to match. I love reading as folks explore this theme!

  2. June 2, 2008 11:36 pm

    This is great. Thanks. And thanks to Paul for the theme! I may do something with it later in the week.

  3. June 4, 2008 9:30 pm

    How come I didn;t know we lived in the same state????

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 5, 2008 6:37 am

    You’re a Jersey girl too, Mama? Huh. Not sure why you did not know, but, I am living over by the shore…

  5. June 5, 2008 7:27 am

    Holy Cats!!! I was living over by the shore this winter… my permanent position is close to Philadelphia – like 10 minutes away

  6. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 5, 2008 7:53 am

    I’m prolly a little further north of where you think of as the shore…think Pt. Pleasant, Belmar, Seaside Heights, Sea Girt, Spring Lake, etc.

  7. June 5, 2008 9:42 am

    I love this photo. How wonderful to have grown up there. Remarkable how some places really stay with us after many years.

    Whenever I’ve driven or taken the train (or even flown over) that part of the Hudson Valley, I am amazed at how beautiful it still is. My dad’s family lived there in the 1930’s but I always pictured it, even then, as somehow suburban. Just as some people out East don’t get the Midwest, I have to confess that for much of my life I thought that the East was mostly concrete. I guess that’s just New Jersey 😉 (except for the trees and the sea shore).

  8. June 11, 2008 11:20 pm

    Eileen, where is this viaduct? I want to go visit it!!!

  9. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 12, 2008 9:10 am

    PJ – this in on the Salibury Mills/Cornwall border in Orange County. The viaduct crosses Rt. 94 as well as Orrs Mills Rd. (the vantage point I”m showing is as seen from Rt. 94 traveling from Vails Gate into Salibury Mills).

    It’s a pretty area. I really miss it there sometimes.

Leave a Reply

