Skip to content

What I got up to Saturday Night with my mom

May 31, 2008

Phone rings.

Mom: What are you doing?

Me: Nothing much. No kids home, E. and I are just sitting here…

Mom: Well..turn on PBS…they have cute Irish guys on singing….

Lots and lots of giggling and several glasses of wine later…and I’ve seen these:

(My mom LOOOOOOVES this guy…he makes me fairly happy too! Plus, we named him Ted, which isn’t his name, but, it’s an inside joke for my mom…cuz once she was tellling my dad she was really tired from reconciling accounts all day, and my dad was like, WHAT? Did you say you’re tired from having sex with TED all day???? So, Ted is Mom’s imaginary boy friend….ANYHOOO)


OK..This kid is hot..and barely legal at 20, but, he’s soooo cute. YUMMERS. Jenna told me he looks just like Jesse McCartney to her…sort of.

And this kid..look at those eyes!! And that voice, coming out of that 14 year old body! Holy Guacamole!

I’m SUCH a dirty old lady…lmao!

So, Celtic Thunder, as these boys are called, are going to be in Atlantic City in November, and mom and I want to GO.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2008 11:33 pm

    OMG, not only have you led me, a formerly respectable middle-aged man (well, formerly middle-aged, anyway) astray on numerous occasions, you ARE indeed a dirty old lady. The voice on the child is, indeed, amazing though I was relieved not to feel any chemistry. Your mother’s “Ted,” however… oh baby! I’ll arm wrestle your mother for that one, and cheat if I have to.

    Regretting that I did not have the ceiling fan on while watching. It’s gotten very hot in here.

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 1, 2008 3:06 pm

    HEE HEE HEE..Corrupted you again Paul!

    And, I’d like to see you and my mom scratch it out for that hottie…and he’s apparently a sweet thing too. Nice boy to bring home to mama!

  3. June 1, 2008 5:23 pm

    And once again the Episcotemptress gives new meaning to “bring home to mama!” Owooo!

    I guess your mama and I share a weakness for sweet things. I loves me some sweet – it is an absolute sine qua non if I am ever to lose my heart.

    I have always loved Desperado sung by Linda Ronstadt and by Clint Black. This joins the collection. He looks a bit naughty to me too, though. There’s more than sweet there. Sweet but naughty, or vice versa, a dangerous combination (for me).

  4. June 1, 2008 6:26 pm

    OK, I’ve looked at more of their videos. I might be shifting toward the tenor, Paul Byrom.

    On a more serious note, I got choked up and ended up posting this.

  5. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 1, 2008 7:29 pm

    Paul is the one with the most classical training. He actually looks so much like one of my dad’s cousins (whose last name is Kerrigan), that it isn’t even funny.

    As for sweet Ryan Kelly (aka Ted) that is a bit of stage theater he apparently enjoys vastly…he was working as an accountant for 8 years, before giving up his day job to tour with these fellas.

    My mom, Paul, told me that you can have sweet Ryan, as for her, he is merely a pipe dream (being as she’s till married to me da and all..), so she wasn’t even gonna give you a good cat fight!

  6. June 1, 2008 8:13 pm

    Well, in the interest of accountantly solidarity and all (yes, that’s what I do when the church doesn’t pay), I’ll take him in. (what a guy)

    I am a huge fan of live theatre. Bless your mum!

  7. susan s. permalink
    June 2, 2008 1:19 am

    Oh, yes, the tenor is lovely an’ a’ that. He don’t half know how to sing! Wow.

Leave a Reply

