Skip to content

Jon Stewart on the Pope

April 18, 2008

Pope In America

Hat Tip to Jane R.

BTW…this doesn’t just beat up the Pope….more important, it takes some pretty damn good swips at Shrub.

ETA: As Jane reminds me, it’s also really good criticism of the way the media has been covering the pope’s visit.

I was talking to D this morning, and complaining about this – E. had turned on the news, and it was like 12 minutes of drivel about the pope’s itinerary, what streets were being closed, etc, which is all we’ve been hearing for days. Like JESUS had arrived, instead of B16. It IRKED me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2008 2:56 pm

    It is also good media criticism. Jon S. really skewers the way the tv channels have been covering the papal visit.

  2. April 18, 2008 5:43 pm

    I was really going to avoid this topic overall, although a serious but cryptic post is in the pipeline.

    By being away this week, I blessedly missed all the hoopla. Now home, I am just not going to watch much.

    That said, if I had to watch coverage, this was the best.

    Legs Benedict…. Oh man.

    Did Bush really say “awesome speech”? Jesus on a hamburger bun, that man is an idiot.

  3. April 19, 2008 5:14 pm

    I’m sure if I could tolerate watching more of the coverage than Mr. Stewart (Jews in Scotland?) thoughtfully provided in those clips, I would be screaming with rage at some point.

    I know I once lived in a time when journalists worked for the networks, but it’s getting harder to remember.

    And Thank Godde for Bill Moyers, who had the McClatchy Baghdad Bureau Chief, a 26 year old woman who speaks Arabic, on last night. They both were wonderful. There are still spots, and McClatchy is one, together, it must be said, with many AP people.

Leave a Reply

