Skip to content

Something for me (and you) to think about

February 28, 2008

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements; lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket- safe, dark, motionless, airless–it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.”  C.S. Lewis

I’m in my second year of EfM, and I was reading about Paul his ideas about redemption, and God’s grace – the gift of God’s love for us to us.  The quote above was in the chapter and it really struck me.

Theologically, Lewis isn’t really one of my favorite thinkers – he’s rather rigid for my taste. But, about this, I think he’s absolutely correct.  Love involves vulnerability and risk and our capacity for it is the thing that makes us Godly.  To shut our hearts up, is to give up the thing in us that makes us most redeemable.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2008 3:17 pm

    I agree with you and the quote.

  2. February 28, 2008 4:03 pm

    Even though I think he was dead wrong about “priestesses”…
    St. Clive of Narnia had a major impact on my relationship with God by destroying my fear of hell (see The Great Divorce for details). He was a good egg–and he’s totally right about this.

    (I also happen to think he’s right about sins of the flesh being the “least bad” of sins, but then I would, wouldn’t I?)

  3. February 28, 2008 5:18 pm

    Yes, this is one of those times Lewis got it spot on.

    I have long believed that a heart cannot become whole without first being broken.

  4. February 28, 2008 9:08 pm

    Yup, and my friend PeaceBang who had sort of given up and knows from heartbreak and has been in a new heart situation for the last month or so just wrote a lovely post about Real Couple Love (my caps not hers, though she does do caps every so often). This is on her regular blog, not her Beauty Tips for Ministers blog. Both are fab and you would love her writing if you don’t already know it.

  5. February 29, 2008 1:46 pm

    I know it, and enjoy it, thanks to the link “a friend’s” blog provided. 🙂

    I’m glad some one else sees flaws in Lewis, though I admit here, as on other occasions, he gets it right. I was very surprised, but even more pleased, to find recently, behind the hobbies and luxuries, inside the coffin, not a heart of stone, but a sweet little boy who wants to play in the son.

    As frightening as that is, I believe I’ll follow his lead.

  6. March 2, 2008 12:37 pm

    Agree or disagree with Lewis, he always gives one plenty to think about, and I see that as a very good thing.

  7. March 2, 2008 6:09 pm

    I admire and appreciate Lewis for his ability to provoke thought, to get people to think about things in a different way. I’ve given The Divorce to most of my Baptist cousins in hope that they might develop an additional synapse… One can hope.

    Good post!

Leave a Reply

