Skip to content

Prayer Call for J.

February 11, 2008

A few months back (end of October), I posted that J. told me that her leukemia was back. She’d been having problems with her optic nerve, and her eye sight was impacted, and they ran some tests and found leukemia cells in her spinal fluid.

This basically means that her bone marrow transplant failed.

She’s been in the hospital since Christmas, getting chemo to put her back into remission, in preparation for another bone marrow transplant. She is very frail, and has been very ill. She’s had a terrible time with the chemo this round. Mouth sores, feeling like she is lying on glass all the time, plus being miserably ill from the chemo. I understand she has lost alot of weight, and she didn’t have any extra to loose before she went into the hospital.

The chemo has done it’s job, and she’s in temporary remission again, just waiting for her blood levels to come up a bit (especially her red blood cells, which help her oxygenate herself and feel less tired). She was to have had another transplant procedure on 2/18 or there abouts, but, for some reason, that donor fell through, and now it looks like 3/10 is the earliest it will happen.

Today is her birthday. I am worried beyond worried about her. She was my boss, my mentor, and I miss her more than I can possibly say. Please, join me in prayer, that another donor is found in time, and that the procedure is a success. She’s fighting for her life.

Update 2/12: J. thought she’d be coming home from the hospital this week for the first time since Christmas.  Unfortunately, she’s developed an infection in her IV line, and will have to stay in the hospital for 5-7 more days to manage it. I’m sure she’s very disappointed.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2008 1:44 pm

    You know we’re here, Eileen, and will be praying for J.

  2. February 11, 2008 7:50 pm

    Praying for J, dear.

    There is another J for whom I am praying. His bone marrow transplant has also failed. Options are running out.

    He’s 22. Sigh.

  3. February 11, 2008 8:34 pm

    Prayers for the Js.

    Peace of Christ

  4. February 12, 2008 12:17 am

    Prayers, love.

  5. February 12, 2008 12:41 am

    And also from here.
    2 young people in our tiny town were diagnosed with cancer within the last couple of months.

  6. February 12, 2008 1:25 am

    Yes, Eileen, prayers for J and her family and friends, and for you, too.

  7. February 13, 2008 6:09 pm

    Prayers from here.

  8. February 14, 2008 7:22 pm

    Prayers for you both, EIleen, and for everyone else mentioned in the thread.

    Glad I haven’t anyone to add to the list.

  9. February 14, 2008 7:23 pm

    Err, hi, this is Kate from When I Was a Boy. Way to out my new blog, eh? Okay, not that I was really hiding it…

  10. February 16, 2008 8:11 pm

    Ay. Sorry to be so many days late, here. Prayers for J. and everyone else. Strength and courage.

  11. February 18, 2008 3:01 am

    Sorry I’m so late to this, but I’m adding J to my prayer list. God bless.

Leave a Reply

