Skip to content

Hate is so predictable

January 24, 2008

Fellow blogger Goddess Kay tipped me off to this:God Hates Fags Bunch will picket Heath Ledger’s Funeral

And speaking of Heath Ledger…I was sitting in the waiting room of the dermatologist’s office with my kids on Tuesday night. There was a t.v. on, and news clip mentioned Heath Ledger’s name. Distractedly, I asked my son..”What did they say about Heath Ledger?” (My brain must have taken the information in on some level). He said, “They said that guy is dead.”

I was floored. The first thought that came to my mind was how young he was, and of his child, who I knew must still be very young. I told Jake he must have heard it wrong.

Jake said, “No..they said he died in NY.”

I don’t know why it struck me as so shocking, and so sad. Maybe because on the outside it seemed that his life looked so promising? It just seemed wrong. It’s not like he was an Amy Winehouse, where you expect that any day, you’ll pick up a paper and see that the stupidity has ended. But, that wasn’t the kind of thing you heard about this guy.

It just struck me as sad, and wasteful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2008 5:37 pm

    WBC is so out there, so beyond reason, that I keep thinking that there must be a reason. God must have put these people hrtr for a reason. I only grasp at it, and unsuccessfully. But, I am convinced that they are a gift we haven’t opened yet.

  2. January 24, 2008 8:04 pm

    I was at work when I got the news about Heath, so I didn’t have time to be too shocked, but it sank in later, although not to the depth that some other celebrity deaths have.

    For example:

    When I heard Princess Di had been killed, I cried and cried. It was weird. I didn’t follow her life. I had no interest in her. Despite all the logical reasons to take it in stride, however, her death flattened me.

    John Candy’s did as well.

    Weird.

    And WBC ticks me off!

Leave a Reply

