Skip to content

My Blog is Banned in Turkey: From Jane R. Via Paul (BB) via comments below

December 14, 2007
  1. Eileen, just to expedite, this came to you via me from Jane R.:
    Jane R said…
    Note to Eileen the Episcopalifem on a totally (?) unrelated matter (I’m also going to post at Mimi’s): access to your blog is banned by a civil court in Turkey. What DID you say recently? Or is it the dressless lady on your home page? (If I write out the word n * a * k * e * d* poor darling Paul will get spammed. I asked one of my Turkish friends here and she says you must have said something anti-Turkish. I told her your blog wasn’t terribly political, only the usual criticisms of El Presidente, like most of the rest of our friends. Oh do tell. I left you a note in the comments section of my blog (where you last wrote) but haven’t heard from you, and I can’t find your e-mail. P.S. Hi Paul sweetheart.

    12/14/2007 12:00 PM

    Since I am so pro-Armenian, I am surprised she can reach me.

  2. A second message from Jane:
    Oh, fascinating. Bishop Christopher Epting’s blog is banned here too! http://ecubishop.wordpress.com/ (he’s the Episcopal Church’s ecumenical officer — and interreligious officer too, as I recall) and so is the Handmaid Leah’s — very devout Orthodox Christian: http://handmaidleah.wordpress.com/. So now my host says it must be an anti-Orthodox thing, because although the Ecumenical Patriarchate is here, the Turkish government doesn’t like it. (But they haven’t banned its website.) Eileen, doll, have you suddenly gone Russian Orthodox on us? Or Greek Orthodox? And how come they haven’t banned Padre Mickey and me, the icon posters?

I wonder WHAT in the world I could have posted here to get me BANNED in Turkey???? By the GOVERNMENT? HUH?

Mom always said there’d be days like this.

Aaaah…THIS might explain why: http://timpanogos.wordpress.com/2007/08/19/turkish-creationists-censor-1-million-wordpress-blogs/

It seems that some rich hoople in Turkey, who is a creationist, got the Turkish courts to block ALL WordPress Blogs!

This site: http://www.greatfirewallofturkey.com/english/  will get you AROUND the block on WordPress in Turkey. It’s some kind of prexy site.

The world is a far more interesting place than I ever give it credit for being~

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2007 6:10 pm

    I posted the explanation in the comments thread where Jane had gone in hopes she will see them.

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    December 14, 2007 6:16 pm

    (((Paul)))

    You’ve done more than your fair share in this conversation! My husband would have long been rolling his eyes at me and telling me…Eileen! GO TELL HER YOURSELF! LOLOLOL

    You are a Mensch. I wish I had something to give you! A drink? a cookie? fruit salad? a good book for your trouble?

  3. December 14, 2007 6:48 pm

    You’ve been banned from an entire country?! I’m so jealous!

  4. December 15, 2007 12:42 am

    And, besides all that, how did a good (not always nice!) Jersey Grrl get banned in Turkey, except by good works, which are the fruit of Holy Sophia?

  5. December 15, 2007 1:13 am

    I’m jealous too. Someone from Turkey has visited my blog but didn’t leave a comment. Unless they were from the government and were looking for subversive material (in which case, they probably quickly fell asleep).

  6. December 15, 2007 8:53 pm

    My ex always told me I’m a bear, so probably not a Mensch, but thanks. A Mensch of a bear, perhaps, but that skirts close to those animal-human hybrids Bush warned us about.

    When our paths cross a drink would be lovely if the husband rolling eyes won’t mind. Jane would assure you you’re safe with me.

    I couldn’t just let her messages to you languish on my site in hopes you had the leisure to read comments (Lord, not everyone is unemployed).

    I do think being banned is rather a badge of honor. I wonder if I’ve made the no-fly list yet? With my repeated calls for impeachment it should have happened but I’ve not had occasion to travel. In any case, it’s give us something to wonder about, learn about, and buzz about. Your notoriety increases daily!

  7. December 18, 2007 2:00 pm

    I’m jealous. I’d love to have my blog be banned somewhere. It’s a mark of distinction.

Leave a Reply

