Skip to content

Cool Quote

November 30, 2007

MadPriest pointed out a wonderful Alaskan folk singer named Esther Golton. While perusing her website, I came across this quote, and, it strikes home with me, especially at this very commercial time of year:

It’s not what your house looks like, whether you have nice cabinets, or whether the windows have been trimmed, it’s what happens inside it.”
– Jim Kloss, Whole Wheat Radio

Jim is/was a colleague of Esther’s in a venture called Whole Wheat Radio. This is a radio station that is only available by Webcast to 90 listeners at a time (20 on lo-speed, and 70 on hi-speed), which features independent artists. I’m listening now, and I’m liking it.

Esther’s album, which Maddie has up over at his place here is pretty awesome as well. Very folky, which I really like. So, go give it a listen if you haven’t already – either Esther or Whole Wheat Radio!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2007 3:21 pm

    Oooh, and it comes from Talkeetna.. Mrs. Clumber and I flew out of Talkeetna last summer on a tourist ride around up in the big peaks. Clumber got the world’s grumpiest pilot. A real pill. Made a lasting impression. The Mrs, got a nicer pilot, but by the time she got up to the peaks, clouds had rolled in, so their flight was not as spectacular as it might have been. Whole Wheat’s pretty good… thanks for the pointer!

  2. November 30, 2007 4:01 pm

    Thanks! I’ll make sure Esther (and the entire Whole Wheat Radio Community) see this entry. Welcome to the family….

  3. episcopalifem permalink*
    November 30, 2007 4:12 pm

    YAY!!!!! Welcome Jim..

    Na-na-nah-nah boo-boo, Mad Priest! HAH!

  4. November 30, 2007 4:26 pm

    Oooh, they quoted and (tried to) name you! Whoo hooo!

    woof out to “e”, she’s famous in Talkeetna!

  5. episcopalifem permalink*
    November 30, 2007 4:34 pm

    Hee hee!!!

    Too funny, right?

    My 5 seconds of fame! I love it!

  6. November 30, 2007 5:03 pm

    Hey there Eileen. Thanks so much for this writeup! What a treat to be found and liked on the big ol’ internet. Glad that quote from Jim leaped out at you… when he said it one day I jumped up and decided to write a song, I was so moved by the thought… and knew that would be the title of my project. All the best to you and your readers! Esther in Alaska

  7. episcopalifem permalink*
    November 30, 2007 5:10 pm

    Yay Esther! You made it!

    Glad to point out someone whose voice is as sweet as yours to my friends.

    And the MadPriest in England is always good at pointing out the stuff we Yanks should be noticing on the music scene and aren’t.

    I’ll be listening to Whole Wheat Radio…it’s perfect for listening to while I work!

  8. November 30, 2007 5:20 pm

    A really great site and (so far as the samples indicate) great album, Esther.

    Boston was when? Advent/ Hannukah gets so busy: sigh.

    Boy, Fluffie, you really are kewl!

  9. George Jaccoud aka Kimchifox permalink
    December 1, 2007 6:46 pm

    Hi Jim & Esther,

    “Cool Quote” a is a great quote and a value my parents instilled in me as a child. I can still remember visiting with their friends, and on the drive home my father saying, “Those people don’t have two pennies to rub together, but they’d give you the shirts off their backs!” I once overheard one of my father’s friends saying the same about him. That hit home . . . in a very good way.

    I’m looking forward toward seeing you soon when you come out East. (Jim: You coming too?)

    Happy Holidays,

    George aka Kimchifox

Leave a Reply

