Skip to content

This scares the crap out of me!

November 29, 2007

Here is an interview with Naomi Wolf, done by Democracy now:“The End of America”: Feminist Social Critic Naomi Wolf Warns U.S. in Slow Descent into Fascism. They have a written transcript, but they also have audio and video clips available of the interview.

I recommend it highly. I’ve read Wolf’s 10 steps to Facism else where, I think I might even have blogged about it. What particularly strikes me is when she speaks of being on the government watch list and what she has to go through at the airport – a list which she explains has grown from about 20k names to over 750k names. She talks about proposals happening quietly now which will require people to apply to the state for airline tickets to cross state boarders.

750k names on the list. Many of whom are Americans who have been outspoken in their criticism of the Bush Administration.

She speaks of waterboarding, Guantanamo and Abu Ghraib, and here’s what she has to say:

And once the state legalizes torture of people at the margins, inevitably it will begin to direct state abuse at people at the heart of civil society, and it’s always the same cast of characters: journalists, editors, opposition leaders, outspoken clergy and labor leaders. And when that starts to happen, society can close down in a heartbeat, because people start to sensor themselves. (emphasis mine)

Blows my effin’ mind.

Go watch this.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2007 2:52 pm

    I cannot tune out my constant awareness of this reality, not since 1964 anyway. The best I can manage, sometimes, is to tune it down for sanity’s sake.

    Then again, don’t get sane, get even!

  2. November 29, 2007 3:36 pm

    What is also disturbing is that our Canadian gormless government has allowed the Excited States to execute arrest warrants for their “enemies” on Canadian soil. I fear that we all become the jimmy Swaggart nation if we keep allowing this nonsense to continue.

  3. November 29, 2007 11:44 pm

    Doc,

    I think you are right in noting this evil in other places; it appears to me to be a worldwide phenomenon: all sorts of folk willing to do violence to the innocent. I sometimes lose track of this, given my grief at my own country’s egregious behavior for so long.

    Even if we were more like Canada at her worst, it would surely be an improvement.

  4. November 30, 2007 1:22 am

    Unfortunately, the erosions of rights which occur in Canada are unfailingly polite but still carry the tarnish of a gloved chainmail fist. So far only out Prime Ministers can be bought like common harlots and the rest of our elected officials are largely too stupid to figure out how to be bought. I exercise my democratic rights by erecting a lawn sign during every election which says: “Don’t vote. It only encourages them.” It is the very very least I can do….sigh.

  5. Paul (A.) permalink
    December 1, 2007 9:22 am

    Slow descent?

Leave a Reply

