Skip to content

Kay wonders “Did Jesus Know He Was Divine?”

November 22, 2007

Kay has an interesting thread going on over at her place – interesting because Kay has readers of various religious perspectives outside of mainstream Christianity who post over at her place, so it gives you a chance to see responses from different points of view: pagans, gnostics, wiccans, etc.

Here is my response to the question:

If you look for the historical jesus, and what he actually knew of himself, I think you may be in danger of looking for a needle in a haystack. Jesus didn’t write anything down, so the only things we know about Jesus is what OTHER people knew about Jesus.

Information coming out of the Jesus Seminar suggests that Jesus didn’t say he was divine – that the authors of the Gospel put words in his mouth to suit the purpose of their own agenda, and to perpetuate what they believed of Jesus. Jesus was preaching that the end was near, and he was living as a Jew, not trying to invent a new religion, but to bolster and enhance an already existing one. If he was divine, and knew this, why didn’t he directly say so? Why didn’t he write anything down?

When I start to contemplate things like this, I begin to get a headache.

Sometimes, I’ve found, the truth is more than the facts. None of us live in a vacuum. We each exist in relation to something/someone. Our idea of ourselves may be very different from other’s ideas of us: which self is the true one?

The answer is likely both.

The people who followed Christ were profoundly impacted by him, and believed in his Divinity. They made his Divinity real by spreading the word, talking about him, commemorating him and his great teachings. Christ touched these people, and continues to touch a great number of people, in various forms and contexts, to this very day.

For me, I’m finding that speculating on what Christ did or didn’t know about his divinity is an interesting intellectual exercise, but for me, it’s beside the point.

I don’t know if this makes sense. I don’t want to say that this is a question that shouldn’t be asked, because I don’t believe that either. But I guess I’m beginning to find that, because the factual truth is so buried, and because I can relate to the Christ as he has been presented, that it’s not so important to me if he “knew” he was divine or not. The fact that he has impacted so many lives has become enough “proof” for me that he is indeed Divine.

Donald also has a great response up over at his place, where he uses the Gospel of Thomas to discuss the proof that Christ is Divine.

Intersting Thanksgiving morning reading…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2007 10:06 pm

    For me, I’m finding that speculating on what Christ did or didn’t know about his divinity is an interesting intellectual exercise, but for me, it’s beside the point.

    Good theology, Eileen; not surprising.

  2. November 24, 2007 6:31 am

    I think it’s an interesting question, and certainly it will occupy some of the time left between now and the escaton, but at the end of the day it is not a good question because it really doesn’t matter. I am as guilty as the next person for frittering away countless hours on pretty shiny questions like this. But, I’d rather find a question that is worthy of me. As Anglicans, people who dwell in the questions, we have a special obligation in Christendom to formulate good, worthy, questions. Just what I think.

Trackbacks

  1. ePiscoSours » Blog Archive » Gnosis

Leave a Reply

