Skip to content

Tired, Tired, Tired.

October 15, 2007

tired-woman-070612.jpg

I’ve been quietish, mostly because I’ve still been under the weather. I spent another weekend fighting overwhelming fatigue, body aches, stomach cramps and vague nausea, intestinal issues, sore throat, mouth ulcers, and general overall malaise.

I had to FORCE myself to go fulfill my commitment to host dinner with the homeless families staying at our church on Saturday night with my mom. I felt yucky, achy, and tired, tired, tired. One of our priests was there and remarked that I looked VERY tired. Ouch.

Sunday morning I bailed on both church and Sunday school teaching – total dereliction of duties. Thinking it might be depression, I forced myself to get up and get dressed, go to the gorcery store, and carry on with my plans to host my neighbors for dinner (yummy brisket, egg noodles, roasted carrots, and awesome salad).

Everytime I sit still for a bit, I just want to close my eyes and have a small nap.

This is VERY unlike me. I’m not known for sleeping during the day – I can barely sleep at night.

So, I have a doctors appointment for later today. I’m torn between feeling crappy, and feeling like a hypochondriac. Not sure what would be worse: nothing turns up (meaning I’m a friggin’ head case) or something turns up (meaning, something is wrong with me).

Yuck.

So, this is why I’ve been quiet.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2007 12:32 pm

    I feel pretty similar, but I always feel like this when summer turns to fall. So I trick myself out with sinus meds, throat lozenges, tons of chapstick, and Tylenol, and otherwise do just enough work to keep me from getting in trouble.

    Ecccch.

  2. October 15, 2007 1:21 pm

    Ick. Take care of yourself, love.

  3. October 15, 2007 1:50 pm

    Sounds like change-of-season on top of way lots stress to me, hun. Take it easy and I’ll be over in a bit with some soup and tea and a spare blanky.

    (Well, it’d be nice, anyway…)

  4. susan s. permalink
    October 15, 2007 1:53 pm

    You are wise to see the doctor. Virtual Hot Toddies comng your way!

  5. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 15, 2007 2:04 pm

    Merci beaucoup tout les amies!

    I’d love a blankie tea and soup Kate.

    And a hot toddie would be loverly too.

    Acutally, a couch, pillow and blankie would be enough.

  6. October 15, 2007 2:20 pm

    Poor Eileen. I know the feeling. It’s not in your head πŸ™‚

    Well, to cheer you up, MadPriest found it in his heart to welcome me..the heretic…to his infamous blogroll. I posted my gratitude today.

    http://naturalibus.blogspot.com/2007/10/tea-with-mad-priest.html

    I thought you deserve special mention πŸ™‚

  7. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 15, 2007 2:51 pm

    The Mad One likes his heretics. He collects us, like butterflies on display. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the props. You are the one with the awesome blog though – way more food for the head there than here.

    I just provide heretical fluff, so to speak. And alot of bewildered, head-shaking, WTF.

    I guess we all have our place!

  8. October 15, 2007 2:58 pm

    Fluff is good. Precious likes fluff. πŸ˜‰ “Don’t we, Precious?” πŸ™‚

  9. October 15, 2007 3:30 pm

    Hmmm … just a thought: maybe you should stop cooking for everyone else and nourish yourself with a nice long nap. “Slow down, you move too fast …”

  10. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 15, 2007 3:32 pm

    LJ – That dinner only sounded hard.

    You put the brisket in the oven for 3 1/2 hours.

    Carrots go in same oven for an hour.

    Noodles – boil water and dump.

    It was easy, really.

    But, a nice long nap. I don’t even know what that is.

  11. October 15, 2007 4:11 pm

    Um — honey, maybe you are just TIRED! As in, you’ve been under stress and not getting enough sleep. Sleep sleep sleep, as my Momma would say.

    And (as she also said and continues to say even to her middle-aged children) lots of fresh pure water to drink and some good nutrition (ahem, darlin’, that means cut out the junk food, but NOT the dark chocolate) and get your fresh air and exercise (once you’ve gotten sleep, that is :-)) and (say my mother) everything else will take care of itself.

    But good you are going to the doc just to make sure. I suspect you have stress and overload and exhaustion, in any case. Sending warm solidarity your way!

  12. October 15, 2007 4:26 pm

    (((Eileen)))

    Do rest, sleep, and get well, at first by Monday; I’d hate for you to have to show up sick!

  13. Suzer permalink
    October 15, 2007 4:39 pm

    {{{{Eileen}}}}}

    And I just danced with you on Facebook, and tired you out even more.

    Get some rest, my friend (if that’s possible, with all you do). Sending you some virtual tea and a nice soft pillow. πŸ™‚

  14. October 15, 2007 4:42 pm

    ::hands Eileen the brandy so she can put a snort into her hot tea::

    Feel better soon, dear heart.

  15. October 15, 2007 5:11 pm

    Praying the doc can relieve the symptoms and hopefully find the cause so you can recover. And that you can sleep well. That is critical. And, yes, you must take care of yourself so you are strong and rested a week from today. We have much to discuss.

  16. October 15, 2007 6:30 pm

    ::hands Eileen chicken-less chicken soup::
    It has all the healing properties of my jewish grandmother’s chicken soup, but without the chicken.

    Whatever it is, its not in your head. Prayers ascending, and here’s to hoping you are at least feeling better by next Monday if not sooner

  17. October 15, 2007 6:48 pm

    Hugs, Eileen, and prayers ascending. When I was in the Air Force and people would use that stupid maxim, “Service before self” to get a person to work 24 hours straight or whatever, I would retort, “if you don’t take care of self, there will be no self to serve.”

    And those are my words to you. Hugs, Dear one. Have some nice hot tea with honey for that throat.

  18. October 16, 2007 8:06 am

    Hey Hun. I’m not a doctor, but I suspect Mono. You might have a month of bed rest in your future.

    Prayers and hugs,

    kay

  19. October 16, 2007 8:41 am

    I am experiencing the same thing. I couldn’t figure out whether it was seasonal or not, but it was my birthday weekend and I didn’t do a damn thing other than watch TV and read. My energy level is very very low.

  20. Heather permalink
    October 16, 2007 9:25 am

    Prayers to you, but no kisses. Look: I don’t want your mono, lady! Tee hee. Feel better.

    (((Eileen)))

  21. October 16, 2007 9:53 am

    Prayers for a quick recovery – but give yourself permission to rest.

  22. Julie+ permalink
    October 16, 2007 11:30 am

    Poor baby. (((Eileen))) Sure does sound a lot like mono (which I had, didn’t take care of, and which put me in the hospital for a week — don’t follow that example!).

    Prayers ascending, Eileen. You so often brighten my day; wish I could do the same for you.

Leave a Reply

