Skip to content

Verses I’m contemplating today

October 2, 2007

Psalm 118

22The stone the builders rejected
has become the capstone; 23 the LORD has done this,
and it is marvelous in our eyes.

God alone has the power to offer us grace and salvation as he sees fit. God alone has the power to choose whom he calls.

For Christ reminds us in Mark 2:27 Jesus said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, and not man for the Sabbath.

To me, these verses speak that the marginalized are beloved by God, and that God is in charge, not man. I feel the Holy Spirit moving among us, doing a new thing, gathering God’s people together more powerfully.

smalldove23.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2007 6:49 pm

    What great thoughts… and how liberating to realize that we are not the ones in charge!

    I like the dove picture.

    Lindy

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 2, 2007 7:33 pm

    Thanks Lindy. Glad you liked it.

    I like that dove too. Pretty.

  3. October 2, 2007 7:51 pm

    I started the year (in Advent) with that sense, and it has been eventful here and there, but I have no clear sense of imminence, only the ongoing thirst for justice, and the righteousness of God for all, lived in Word inDeed, through the power of the Holy Sophia.

    This is beautifully done, Eileen. And how long’s this place looked like this?

    Hi Lindy!

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    October 2, 2007 7:56 pm

    Only since 5pm. You like it?

  5. October 3, 2007 5:10 pm

    Ask me next week; I adjust very slowly. Old family joke: “Ask Dad how he feels about it, then wait three months.”

    I’ll make an effort to speed things up, just for you. I don’t dislike it, but I miss the old one a little, I think, which I also liked.

Leave a Reply

