Skip to content

Visit from an AUTHOR!

September 26, 2007

This morning I woke up to a comment waiting for approval.

It was from one of the authors of a book I talked about back in January called She Who Prays. Her name is Jane Jensen and she said:

Dear Eileen, I’m glad you have a persistent librarian & She Who Prays is one of the books you picked up . I wrote On Betrayal with God’s help while working through a painful time. I hope you and the other commentors are able to find creative ways to come through the pain to peace. Blessings

The betrayal prayer, because of the goings on in TEC is appropriate again today, especially for GLBT Episcopalians who are feeling sold out and angry today. Here it is again:

On Betrayal

Is truth, like beauty, in the eye of the beholder?
Can it be possible that we are both speaking truth,
but from different sides of the hill?

She said. He said.
One truth gathers in, the other pushes out.
Yet we love the same One.

Like Samuel, I find myself being awakened in the night, confused
and dazed.
I don’t want to be Jephthah’s daughter, sacrifice for someone else’s
hot-headedness.
No, the Queen of Sheba is more my style.
I like asking hard questions.
I hope for wisdom.

So does truth depend on your perspective?
Maybe so.
The whole truth is we are fragile, broken, human.
Now is the hour for healing and hope.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2007 5:57 pm

    Lovely. And how exciting for you! And you so deserve it!

    And I don’t mind betraying my appalling ignorance and / or failure of moral sensibility any more than the next person, “Who’s ‘Jephthah’s Daughter’? Was she part of that “Royal History” stuff from I and II Samuel in the daily office a while back? Something way more obvious than that?

    Thinking of ways of looking it up without going to the seminary library.

  2. September 26, 2007 6:15 pm

    Lovely indeed! Thank you for sharing this. Thought provoking and beautiful just like you 😉

  3. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 26, 2007 8:09 pm

    ok mr johnie..here ya go – the story of Jephthah’s daughter, which I just had to remind myself of also, even though I just did year one of EfM last year.

    It’s from Judges.

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 26, 2007 8:09 pm

    (((Revboy))) Glad you enjoyed it.

  5. September 27, 2007 1:22 am

    Eileen, I have an M.Div., though little used of late. I remember skimming the Former Prophets for a Content Exam, but I’ve paid little attention to the Conquest narratives. My paper was on the Call Account of the Prophet Isaiah (6 : 1-8), which was my primary objective in Hebrew Scriptures at the time.

    Thanks for the link; I was afraid I’d missed something important in Feminist Biblical Theology that everybody knows and assumes I do, but I don’t, ya know.

    EfM, eh? I got friends who are doing that: quite the doers, they are.

Leave a Reply

