Skip to content

Grand…

September 24, 2007

Lack of sleep may be deadly, research shows

A 17-year analysis of 10,000 government workers showed those who cut their sleeping from seven hours a night to five or less faced a 1.7-fold increased risk in mortality from all causes and more than double the risk of cardiovascular death.

Great – so now I’m going to die of heart disease because I’m hypomanic. Five hours of sleep is a GOOD night for me.

Hmph. This makes me grumpy. Not sleepy…GRUMPY.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2007 12:15 pm

    I’m right there with you, sweetie. My best friend is forever yelling at me about how little sleep I get.

    But really…who’s going to do what needs to be done if it isn’t me? I know I could save some time if I stopped reading blogs, but…

    The worst of it is that it’s aging me. That’s the best incentive I’ve got to get more sleep. 😉

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 24, 2007 12:20 pm

    Me too. Me too.

    And getting to little sleep messes with your ability to function efficiently.

    None of this helps me sleep “more”, though, for the same reasons you state. Who else will do it if I don’t?

  3. September 24, 2007 1:20 pm

    I don’t know–maybe it won’t get done and that’ll be fine?

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 24, 2007 1:29 pm

    Most things, that is absolutely true, johnie. If it sits, it sits.

    But there are some things mom’s do that matter. Little people involved – little hearts involved.

  5. September 24, 2007 2:55 pm

    Great. Another thing to lie awake worrying about.

  6. September 24, 2007 5:37 pm

    Yeah, for my 15 sleepless years I worried about the aging and all the other harmful side effects my lack was having.

    Then I changed meds and now I sleep like a baby every night. Talk to the doctor. Honestly, I can’t tell you what a difference it makes!!

  7. September 25, 2007 10:41 am

    I’m with lj. Better living through chemistry. (But make sure you don’t just consult your internist. Board-certified psychiatrists only for psychopharmacology.)

    Hard to deal with this sleep thing when you have children. Still, if you do everything you can (meds, rescheduling, deep breathing, et al.) you may still be able to improve the sleep situation as much as possible and that will still be better than before.

    I sleep like a log when I sleep. My problem is work overload — I hate it when, as I did two and three nights ago, I have to sleep a short night because I simply have too few hours in the day to do all the work on my plate, and I’m not talking stuff that can be deferred. Then on nights like last night, I get 8 and a half hours because I just have to put my health and sanity first, and then I’m behind, which is a recipe for frustration and anxiety (not to mention flack from both the powers that be and my students — and more stuff piling up from school, the diocesan committee I chair, and housework, which of course is the least of my worries, but a chaotic house doesn’t help…).

    So, um, why am I blogging? I’d better get back to work on this rare morning with time for desk work. Hugs to you, sweetie. Hang in there.

  8. September 25, 2007 12:40 pm

    I hate it when, as I did two and three nights ago, I have to sleep a short night because I simply have too few hours in the day to do all the work on my plate, and I’m not talking stuff that can be deferred.

    That’s me, Jane—as a writer/editor, I have to work when I have the work. That can’t be put off, I’m afraid.

    And the children still need to be fed and ferried to lessons. I still have to supervise homework.

    (May the fleas of a thousand camels infest the privates of the social studies teacher who masks his ignorance of his subject by assigning piles of time-consuming projects that send my 6th-grader into a spiral of procrastinaton and self-recrimination…)

    The dog needs to be walked, whether I have the inclination or not.

    It’s always something… (and thank God, because if it wasn’t, I’d be dead!)

Leave a Reply

