Skip to content

In the Further Vein of Deep Thoughts

September 14, 2007

I just started reading Circle of Stones by Judith Duerk. This is a book about re-finding the sacred feminine in life.

I have really just started reading this, but I was already struck by this section, in which Judith describes a dream sequence about a woman she is working with in therapy, who is struggling with coming to terms with living her life under the shadow of deep rooted familial and cultural tribal patriarchy. Her life choices have been met with deep disapproval by her father and grandfather.
stonecircle.jpg

The young woman sits and quietly begins to cry.

The grandfather criticizes her tears.

Something of being present in the same room with the two polarities–the young, emerging, feminine feeling side, and the old, negative, oppressing, disapproving patriarchal side–fires my passion and crystalizes my words.

“No!” I say.

“No, she must be allowed to cry. It is only when woman can experience her tears in the moment that she can also experience her true, deep feeling values in the moment. The tears of these young and capable women must be allowed and encouraged to flow–to flow out to the culture and society which so truly and desperately need them and their tears–to help society reconnect with the true and deep values of life which can sustain and support that culture, that life, that of life in their society.

“Someday, when the first woman president of the United States holds the sides of the podium and says, ‘My fellow Americans…’ as she is inaugurated, it will be important that she can be there, weeping, as she speaks, and that her tears and the intensity with which she is in touch with her feeling values can flow out to and nourish the society and influence all women.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2007 1:24 pm

    Oh, beautiful…

    I’ve noticed since I left the ex, I’m crying more often than I used to, but it’s healing crying, freeing crying. I’m getting back in touch with feelings I suppressed for years out of simple fear. It hasn’t been easy, but it’s so very good for me and very necessary.

    Thanks for the quote, and the pointer to the book.

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 14, 2007 1:28 pm

    ((((Kate))))) Glad you got something out of it.

  3. Suzer permalink
    September 14, 2007 4:13 pm

    Too many people are too afraid of feeling. Feeling anything at all.

  4. September 17, 2007 4:32 pm

    “. . . as she is inaugurated, it will be important that she can be there, weeping, as she speaks. . . .”

    I don’t think we’re there yet. If Hillary Clinton becomes president, she’ll still have to act like a man, or she’ll be called weak. Or am I wrong? (I hope so.)

    Sounds like a lovely book. I’ll have to check the library for it.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

