Skip to content

WTF of the day

September 6, 2007

From Feministing:

September 05, 2007
Come fly the slut-shaming skies

Southwest Airlines is apparently now telling its female passengers how to dress. Kyla Ebbert was reprimanded and nearly kicked off a flight for daring to wear a tank top, miniskirt, and cardigan. (This picture is of the outfit she was wearing at the time. Scandalous, no? How dare she walk around in 100-degree weather wearing that?!)

airlinedresscode.jpg

They walked out onto the jet bridge, where [flight attendant/fashion policeman] Keith told Ebbert her clothing was inappropriate and asked her to change. She explained she was flying to Tucson for only a few hours and had brought no luggage.

“I asked him what part of my outfit was offensive,” she said. “The shirt? The skirt? And he said, ‘The whole thing.’ ”

Read the rest over thar.

I don’t know about you, but the flight attendent sounds GAY to me! Fashion police indeed!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2007 11:17 am

    weird story. I’ve seen a lot worse things than that. in fact, what she wore was just…. attractive.

  2. September 6, 2007 11:30 am

    Ludicrous!

  3. September 6, 2007 11:48 am

    A REAL gay man would talk about her clothing behind her back, and only if it were a fashion faux pas, not if it were fabulously sexy. Now, a closeted gay man and/or fundamentalist boy might want to be the permissive clothing police.

    Of course, it’s also possible that this flight attendant was completely heterosexual, and felt that the ensemble, or lack thereof, would impede his ability to conduct his responsibilities during the flight, if you know what I mean.

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 6, 2007 11:53 am

    What, he didn’t want to walk around with uncontrollable wood?

    That should be her problem? LMAO

  5. September 6, 2007 12:12 pm

    I’m not sure I agree with you, KJ. I’m gay, and I personally think the skirt is a bit short for my personal tastes. I just acknowledge that those are my personal tastes and not the law of the land. (And I’m perfectly willing to maintain that distinction. ;))

  6. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 6, 2007 12:45 pm

    KJ’s gay too.

    But would you kick her off a plane for your lack of like of her skirt, Jarred?

  7. September 6, 2007 12:56 pm

    Of course I wouldn’t. I meant to imply that when I made the distinction between my personal tastes and the law of the land. Sorry I wasn’t more clear. 🙂

  8. September 6, 2007 1:32 pm

    On the one occasion they got me into one of those aeroplane things I was scared shitless for the whole of the 40 minute journey. I think if someone like Kyla had been on board that plane her presence would have helped to take my mind off my worries. Heck! I think they should employ her to drastically reduce male and lesbian fear of flying.

  9. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 6, 2007 1:36 pm

    Ahh..the voice of reason weighs in…welcome to Loose Women Airlines – Can I help you with your belt? LMAO

    Jarred – Just ribbin’ ya!

  10. September 6, 2007 1:37 pm

    Ah, careful of those ribs, please. I’m very ticklish.

  11. September 6, 2007 1:51 pm

    Darn! She can fly on my airline anytime! 😉

    And as for the person at Southwest:

    Git.

  12. September 6, 2007 6:34 pm

    I wuz on SW last week, looking fer ANY hint of offensive violations of decency, as is my wont (and want, too, come to think about it), and I must confess, I found altogether too few examples of what Keith found offensive. And remember: “the best defense is a good offense.”

    Pretty sweet young thangs of America, look to yer laurels! Even if you don’t quite measure up when you leave the house for no doubt good reasons, a moment’s attention and improvisation will often be sufficient to strike a blow against asshat tyranny and comfort your fellow passengers.

  13. September 6, 2007 6:39 pm

    Well, I think she was well-dressed compared to the average estadoünidense traveler. I’m sorry, but the majority of estadoünidense tend to dress like slobs while traveling. I’m always shocked by how many people are in t-shirts and shorts, both men and women. Of course, that’s one of the ways we recognize los gringos here in Panamá; they’re wandering about town (even the tourists visiting historic churches) in t-shirts and short pants, not to mention baseball caps. As a third-nation person, I adopt the clothing habits of the country I am in, so I wear t-shirt and shorts about the house, but even if I’m going down the street to the supermercado, I put on long pants and a regular shirt.

    I kinda like what she was wearing; at least it wasn’t t-shirt, shorts and a fanny pack!!

  14. September 6, 2007 6:54 pm

    She’s beautiful.

    We need more beauty in the world.

    Some people need to get over themselves.

    ‘Nuff said.

  15. September 6, 2007 7:26 pm

    “Note to self: wear burqa on Southwest Air.”

  16. September 6, 2007 7:50 pm

    KJ’s gay??? Why am I always the last one to know?

    Jarred, of course we are unqualifed to speak regarding the sexiness of the look, but Elizabeth and MadPriest are eminently qualified.

    I don’t think that we’re really disagreeing as my tongue-in-cheek point was, like your kinder, gentler remark, that we wouldn’t speak directly to the woman about it. I, on the other hand, might talk ABOUT the skirt to others. 🙂

  17. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 6, 2007 9:10 pm

    Mrrrrowwww! Hiss…LMAO

  18. Lisalou permalink
    September 8, 2007 9:24 am

    She is doing the pull down pose on tv and when she went to sit you could clearly see her crotch. The button on her skirt is ON her pubic area. HELLO?

    This is NOT how she wore the outfit while flying..

    She wore the shirt up showing gutting pelvic bones and the skirt was approx. 1 inch from showing crotch (while standing). She looked like a whore waiting for a John

    I saw her in the airport. I don’t want to see a mans stuff hanging out of some running shorts and I don’t want to see this chicks hoochie EVERY time she bent over at the airports restaurant.

  19. September 8, 2007 11:48 am

    Is this story for real??? Mostly, I think she would freeze on the plane because the cabin is either way too hot or too cold and since the airlines no longer give out blankets, she’d turn into one big goose pimple.

  20. September 9, 2007 10:22 am

    KJ’s gay????? Nooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. September 10, 2007 12:07 am

    Interesting that we hear that MP has only flown once for 40 minutes.

    this makes getting over here for his grand tour among his adoring A-mur-can fans a bit more difficult.

  22. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 10, 2007 5:22 am

    I believe, that should we all want to meet the Mad One en masse, we would need to arrange to fly THERE – which would be oh so cool, and oh so out of the question for me at the moment (although I’d love to!)

  23. September 10, 2007 1:29 pm

    We’ll have New York in October, right?

  24. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 10, 2007 1:40 pm

    I am going to give it the old college try – that is right before my cruise, so I’ll have to see what I can manage.

  25. episcopalifem permalink*
    September 10, 2007 1:40 pm

    (But, I’m going to try like hell!)

Leave a Reply

