Skip to content

This amuses me (With Alan Rickman)

August 17, 2007
3 Comments leave one →
  1. introspectreangel permalink
    August 17, 2007 4:20 pm

    I wouldn’t be complaining about Rickman in MY room.

  2. August 17, 2007 5:05 pm

    Spppppppppppppppppppppt!…….. was my response to the first minute or two of this clip (or would have been if I hadn’t drunk every drop of coffee from my cup this morning). Every other line (at least) in this is hysterical.

    I guess for those in the know (how come I never heard of this movie before?), the Wisconsin bit must be old. But it is SOOOOOOOOOOOOO funny to me who went to college and law school (and work in between) there. I love various parts of the state but…. it just makes a really funny line. Most people I’ve encountered out East don’t have a clue about Wisconsin — it’s somehow more mysterious, remote, and superficially tedious than Dakota, so of course that’s gotta be where hell is. Well, there is the roadside store and “museum” built to look like a giant badger, and the cheesehead hats at Packer Stadium, and the bars in places where there aren’t even gas stations, and the Posse Comitatus, and the Mid-Continent Railway Museum, and the bronze statue of Joe McCarthy in the Outagamie County courthouse, and, of course, the U. of Wisconsin – Madison with its intractable radical Left, the pink plastic flamingos on Bascom Hill, the crazy UW marching band, the fresh ice cream from the Ag Department, the Aldo Leopold’s Sand County, and the impoverished folks who live there in mobile homes in the middle of nowhere, former Gov. Tommy Thompson, and Sheboygan sausage…… all in no particular order. But I digress.

    So how’s this for a thread killer……. does anyone else get TIRED of working???????? Sigh……. Right now I’m trying to summarize a lengthy analysis of the nail-biting question: “Is a builder’s risk policy ‘inland marine insurance’ for the purpose of the inland marine exemption to the Standard Fire Policy Statute?” Thanks for the space, here, Eileen. I’ll crawl back in my hole now.

  3. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 18, 2007 5:55 am

    The reason you never heard of this movie is because, basically, it’s for teen-aged/young adult guys.

    You’d have to see the Jay and Silent Bob characters to understand why…and Jay and Silent Bob aren’t in this clip, but, they are in the rest of the movie.

    Kevin Smith is from Asbury Park area in NJ, which isn’t too far from where I am – probably about 45mins or so. I only know about these movies because of my brother, who remains 15 in a grown man’s body.

    As for Wisconsin – it might as well be on Mars, I think for most easterners. As a matter of fact, most of the middle of the country (you know, the states that the oceans don’t touch) is like a big drain pool in the mind of east coasters – like ew, why would you go there? (Sorry if I have offended any Central States Americans – this isn’t the view of the management – only a reporting of the mind of the Borg…)

Leave a Reply

