Skip to content

Because of Kay at In the Spirit of Chaos,

August 14, 2007

I received these two books today:

the-red-book.jpg

the-life-organizer.jpg

La la la la laaaa laaaa!

I gots new books. I’m so excited!

UPDATE: Now the pics are linked to Amazon, so that you too, can spend money. (For Tandaina)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2007 3:56 pm

    No, no. Not fair showing off new books unless you LINK to them so we can also have new books.

    -Tandaina

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 14, 2007 4:26 pm

    Tandaina is making WORK for me…but…ok…

    I will share my passions with my friends.

    Oh, and BTW, I’m very much enjoying Yearnings – You were right, it really spoke to me about some things – especially the I love you/I hate you stuff I experience in my marriage.

  3. August 14, 2007 9:00 pm

    Wow … did you read all those other ones already??

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 15, 2007 4:40 am

    Um, no.

    I have PILES of books. PILES.

    Do you see why I make my husband insane?

    These books are more like read them as the spirit to read them strikes you though…not like a novel.

    Sometimes I need an infusion of girl power.

    I am going to TRY to restrain myself from getting any more books, but Kay is talking about Kirkegaard and Hegel…It makes my book want button vibrate…

    I should have been a scholar, so I could read for a living – I’m just not smart enough! Poo.

  5. August 15, 2007 2:39 pm

    Eileen,

    Whatever you do, DON’T buy anything written directly by Hegel.

    Seriously.

    Read about Hegel from someone else (like Keith Ward), but not Hegel himself.

    I consider myself a pretty smart chicky, but Hegel wrote to be purposefully obtuse. He didn’t want to be understood by the “masses.” Even die hard philosophers find him rather difficult to read.

  6. August 15, 2007 2:40 pm

    PS – I hope you enjoy the Red Book. If anything can cheer you up and make you feel all warm and fuzzy about yourself, it can.

  7. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 15, 2007 4:15 pm

    Makes crib notes…no Hegel directly. Keith Ward (he’s on my list of other authors).

  8. August 15, 2007 9:31 pm

    Wholehearted agreement on the Hegel; Kierkegaard is another story. In that case, only a little may be enough, even when ya skip a lot of the stuff ya don’t get, because there’s the parts ya DO get, or are got by.

    I wuz got by *Fear and Trembling* in ’73, and I still remember it.

Leave a Reply

