Skip to content

Books I got in the Mail today

August 3, 2007

Why Marriages Succeed or Fail - John Gottman

10 Lessons to Transform Your Marriage by Gottman, Gottman & DeClaire

A Declaration of Independence by Inga Muscio

The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore

The Sidhe by John Matthews

Crossing to Avalon by Jean Shinoda Bolen

The Cloister Walk by Kathleen Norris

How Images of Beauty are Used Against Women by Naomi Wolfe

Synchronicity and the Self by Jean Shinoda Bolen

How the Modern Women’s Movement Changed America by Ruth Rosen

I also downloaded this album Shores of Avalon by Tina Malia, thanks to Loud, Brash and Dramatic…and I’m diggin’ it:

Shores of Avalon by Tina Malia

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2007 3:13 pm

    Lamb is, I believe, the single funniest book I’ve ever read.

    Looks like a fabulous weekend for you!

  2. August 3, 2007 3:53 pm

    I am with Doxy on that one – Lamb is absolutely hilarious. I need to figure out who I lent my copy to, because I need to give it another read.

    Hugs,
    Hedwyg
    (who wishes she could invite you both to her place for a Girls’ Weekend)

  3. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 3, 2007 3:56 pm

    (((Hedwyg))) from Eileen – who wishes like hell she could just drop it all and come for the girls weekend with you and Doxy.

    We could play a duet…you’d be awesome, I’d be rusty, and it would be KEWL.

    And we could have some wine…Red wine. Yummers.

    And cheese…and crackers…and laugh and laugh.

  4. August 3, 2007 3:58 pm

    I would *so* be there, Hedwyg!!

    Can y’all tell that I’m feeling anxious today? I’m obsessively checking blog comments all over the web instead of doing something productive. Sigh.

  5. August 3, 2007 3:58 pm

    Eileen, my perfect dinner is red wine, cheese, and crackers. Dark chocolate for dessert.

    I am not making this up.

  6. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 3, 2007 4:10 pm

    Mine too, Doxy. Although, I’m an ambi chocolate person – dark chocolate is something I’ve come to appreciate only recently.

    Someday, we’ll have to just make a date and do it.

  7. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 3, 2007 4:11 pm

    Um…that didn’t sound so good…

  8. August 3, 2007 4:29 pm

    Oooo…hot!

    ::slaps self around::

    “Self! knock it off!” ;->

  9. August 3, 2007 5:23 pm

    When, child, are you going to read all this stuff? You know:

    So many books, too little time.

    Especially when I spend so much of now reading and commenting in other people’s blogs 🙂

  10. August 3, 2007 6:43 pm

    And I’m not writing on MY blog due to reading and commenting on so many others…

    I so am digging the ideal dinner. Too much red wine gives me a headache, though. The Cloister Walk is a great read. I was turned on to Kathleen Norris when I went to a Nancy Roth retreat some years back and someone said to me, “You are from South Dakota and you’ve never read Kathleen Norris?” Gulp. So I started reading her work, and I just have gobbled it up.

  11. August 3, 2007 8:20 pm

    I love the Cloister Walk! And based on the comments from two of my favorite bloggers, I guess I have to go get Lamb now. But, whew! When do you have time to read so much??

  12. August 3, 2007 8:23 pm

    I don’t have time to read…I just have STACKS of books…and blind ambition!

    LMAO

    I luf books…

    And I think I still have one or two more coming.

  13. August 3, 2007 9:02 pm

    Here’s another vote for The Cloister Walk; I’ve reread it a number of times. (Dakota is really good too.) Lamb is a hoot. For some reason I’ve never read Cunt….

  14. August 4, 2007 12:28 am

    The Cloister Walk changed my life. Read it first!

  15. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 4, 2007 5:26 am

    I’ve read one other book by Kathleen Norris – Amazing Grace.

    It has the distinction of being the first “religion” book I’ve ever read as an adult – the first religiously related book I choose to read. It was powerful, and helped to move me along in my spiritual journey.

    My problem with this newest shipment of books, is that I want to read ALLL of them first.

    But, unfortunately, I think I’m going to have to read the Gottman books first – even though I want to read those first less then the other books I received.

  16. August 4, 2007 9:16 am

    Nothing like a little light summer reading.

    Eileen, no one has dared to say this yet, so I’m afraid it must be me…”Cunt,” with the little “Search Inside™” arrow. Niiiice.

    In all seriosity, hang in there, sister. 🙂

  17. kay permalink
    August 4, 2007 10:00 am

    Hey! Did you order half those books off my site? I have most of them on my library thing. If you did I just might make $.50. 😉

  18. August 4, 2007 10:01 am

    Oh, and I agree. Lamb is HILARIOUS! Christopher Moore is in my top five favorite authors.

  19. August 4, 2007 11:22 am

    Eileen, I thought you were joking about the books. I thought I was bad with the piled-up books, but you are much, much worse.

    I agree with all y’all about Kathleen Norris’ books. She is an amazing woman, and her books have changed me in more ways than I can say.

    After all those books, you are going to know so much, that your head won’t be able to hold it.

  20. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 4, 2007 11:50 am

    Kay…I didn’t order them from your site…Although, I did steal half of them from there, and put most of your list on my wish list. (Runs to duck and hide…SORRY! You know I still love ya though, right?)

    Lamb has been on my “to read list” for a while. I’m looking forward to it, and, I’m hoping to get it read before the summer is over. (Gilead, and The Brooklyn Follies are head of it….half done with Gilead, so here’s hoping!)

    Grandmere Mimi…it’s a sickness, pure and simple.

    I love books. Love ’em. And my head is not big enough to hold onto half of the information I’ll be loading up into there.

    PJ – LMAO…I didn’t even “think” of that…thank God for my friends.

Leave a Reply

