Skip to content

Luiz….

August 2, 2007

has an excellent new post up called Woman in Chains. It’s about women in the church – Sarah who laughed as she doubted the power of the Lord and the veracity of his message, Mary who embraced the feast that was Christ, and Martha, who was too busy doing what she was supposed to do, what she was expected to do, to embrace the feast.

Luiz pointed it out to me well over a week ago, but I’ve been mired in personal miasma, and didn’t pay the attention to it that I should have – mea culpa, dear Luiz.

So now, all of you (except Johnie B and Jane R who have already been there and done that), brush off your donut crumbs and git on over there to read it.

Reminds me of this song, Woman in Chains by Tears for Fears:

You better love loving and you better behave
You better love loving and you better behave
Woman in chains, woman in chains

Calls her man the great white hope
Says she’s fine, she’ll always cope, ooh
Woman in chains, woman in chains

Well, I feel lying and waiting is a poor man’s deal (A poor man’s deal)
And I feel hopelessly weighed down by your eyes of steel
(Your eyes of steel)
Well, It’s a world gone crazy keeps woman in chains, woh woh woh
Woman in chains, woman in chains

Trades her soul as skin and bones
(You better love loving and you better behave)
Sells the only thing she owns
(You better love loving and you better behave) ooh ooh
Woman in chains (the sun and the moon), woman in chains

Men of stone, men of stone, hey baby, no no no, ooh

Well, I feel deep in your heart there are wounds time can’t heal
(The time can’t heal)
And I feel somebody somewhere is trying to breathe
Well, you know what I mean
It’s a world gone crazy keeps woman in chains

It’s under my skin but out of my hands
I’ll tear it apart (somebody somewhere is trying)
But I won’t understand (to breathe)
I will not accept the greatness of man
It’s a world gone crazy keeps woman in chains
Gone crazy keeps woman in chains

So free her, so free her, so free her
So free her, so free her (the sun and the moon)
So free (the wind and the rain) her, so free her
So free her, so free her, so free her, so free her
So free her, so free her (the sun and the moon)
So free (the wind and the rain) her, so free her

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2007 12:45 pm

    Thank you. How powerful this is put together with what Luiz wrote (also what Elizabeth Keaton wrote about Sybille at Telling Secrets and what Sybille wrote at The Witness and other places… which brings us all back to Sarah Dylan Breuer’s Sarah Laughed – the origin of which I somehow never picked up on before).

    Scary (to me) that I missed this song and that entire period of music. Glad to hear it now.

  2. August 2, 2007 1:03 pm

    I’ve always loved this song. Thanks for posting the lyrics. Chills.

  3. August 2, 2007 3:25 pm

    Thanks, Eileen.

    Sadly, many Episcopal churches are still using the old lectionary, and not the revised common one. So, most of you must have had another OT reading, instead of Sarah’s one.

    Rob pointed out that we should not despise Martha as the stereotype of a silly and outdated woman, and that, in fact she had her relevance in this whole story.

    Thinking about that, I do see Martha as an icon of many people we see in the Church nowadays. Clearly valuable people, but who have chosen to hide behind the curtains, for several reasons. But they are still daughters and sons of our Lord, and our sisters and brothers.

    I’m also reading a book by Leonardo Boff, a famous Brazilian liberation theologian, called “the Hail Mary, the feminine and the Holy Spirit”. Unfortunately, it was translated only to Spanish, but it’s a wonderful reflection on feminist theology, written by someone who had no theoretical obligation to support it.

    I think we, men, should care more about it. The same way straight people should care more about queer theology and so on… It won’t sound as self promotion or justification, then.

    Blessings to you.

    PS.: I wanted to use the tears for fears song on my post (that’s why the title), but B2Evo (my blog engine) is not letting me add videos. Sigh…

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 2, 2007 3:34 pm

    Ah, Good! Then I channeled it for you, and posted it over here.

    I love the video and the link between that song and your essay.

    And I know what you mean about Martha. We need Martha’s – not everyone can or should be at the center of the “feast” – someone does have to set it up, afterall – however, Herbert could help her out from time to time, right?

    I have several books by Boff on my shelf, waiting to be read: The Maternal Face of God, Introducing Liberation Theology and Jesus Christ, Liberator.

    I agree – we all need to hold one another up, to see the world from each other’s perspectives, if only to be able to say we have tried.

Leave a Reply

