Skip to content

I love this post over at Bitch, PhD

August 2, 2007

You’re Goddman Right I’m Frivolous.

I don’t feel so alone. Tee hee hee.

I’m not the only woman born without the obsessively neat/clean gene. I feel in good company now.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2007 3:20 pm

    Did you ever really think you were the only woman who lacks the obsessively neat/clean gene? To be honest, I’d have trouble naming a significant number of women who have it.

    Granted, that number would still probably be higher than the number of men I could name as having that gene. But hey, we won’t go there. (Please?)

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 2, 2007 3:25 pm

    ((((Jarred)))) – You are a MENSCH! Truly.

    My husband has it – he’s very orderly – although, he can barely walk and chew gum at the same time, and I don’t mean that as the completely bitchy criticism it sounds – I mean, he’s thorough, and he can’t multitask.

    I’m very half-ass, and I multitask like a mutha…or a mother…

    You know what I mean!

  3. August 2, 2007 3:45 pm

    Mensch? That’s a good thing, right? Cuz if you just said something mean to me, I think I shall cry. 😉

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 2, 2007 3:49 pm

    Moi? Mean…PERISH the thought.

    I am not mean to those who fan me with niceness – I don’t bite the hand that feeds my ego! LOL

  5. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 2, 2007 3:51 pm

    From Wikipedia:

    Mensch: A] mensch is a someone to admire and emulate, someone of noble character. The key to being “a real mensch” is nothing less than character, rectitude, dignity, a sense of what is right, responsible, decorous. (Rosten, Leo. 1968. The Joys of Yiddish. New York: Pocket Books. 237)

  6. August 2, 2007 4:00 pm

    Yeah, I looked up the word after I left my comment.

    And I loved that line about not biting the had that feeds your ego.

  7. August 2, 2007 5:06 pm

    Yeah, those photos make me feel good. One interesting thing about being a pastor is getting to go into lots of people’s homes. Of course, some have the chance to clean up when you’re coming over, but often, they don’t. I’ve seen floors you can eat off of and floors you can’t find and most fall somewhere in between. My mom once visited an older lady in one of my congregations and I said, “Isn’t her house immaculate?” You know what Mom said back? “Yes, but she doesn’t have any books in the house!”

    I loved that comment. Where are the priorities, after all??

  8. Bill Nichols permalink
    August 2, 2007 6:13 pm

    “Mensch” is definitely a Good Thing. For an even more prosaic example, check out Norma Rae” the next time you hit the video store. Filmed in a little town I used to live in, BTW. A lot of the extras were locals. E.g., the JP who marries NR & Sonny is a local judge by name of Tom Samford; that was back in my Presbyterian days, afore I larnt how ta reed….

    Bill

  9. August 2, 2007 7:43 pm

    Don’t worry Bill. We’re glad ya gots some larnin’…and well forgive you your presby background…(especially, since there are some presbys I know and like well..Well, hello thar John Shuck!)

  10. August 2, 2007 8:48 pm

    Hey, hey, hey. Stop knocking the Calvinists! We may be totally depraved, but other than that we are very nice people.

  11. Suzer permalink
    August 2, 2007 10:31 pm

    Thank the Lord, we’re not the only ones with a cluttered house. We pick up when company comes (which isn’t often) and when we risk bodily harm by tripping over things. We try to keep it clean, really we do, but it only takes a day or two to devolve into messiness again.

  12. August 3, 2007 10:05 am

    I saw this in a refrigerator magnet years ago, and it is my mantra:

    A spotless house is the sign of a wasted life.

    And, at the risk of being inflammatory, if your husband wants a spotless house, tell him to clean the damned thing himself!!!

    The way I look at it is this: if one partner in a couple feels really strongly about something, and the other doesn’t, it is the responsibility of the partner with strong feelings to take the action.

    Now, clearly, there are limits to this. I don’t mean that the less-clean-obsessed one should throw banana peels on the carpet for the hell of it. That one has an obligation not to make unnecessary work for the other.

    But when one can live with clutter (not filth) and the other can’t, the latter should buck up and do the cleaning rather than spend his/her life bitching about the former.

    Either that, or get the hell over the obsession with trying to live in an immaculate house. (ESPECIALLY when there are kids involved!)

    I mean, after all—what’s more important? A spotless house or a good relationship with your spouse?

  13. Bill Nichols permalink
    August 3, 2007 10:50 pm

    “We may be totally depraved, but other than that we are very nice people.”

    Oh, thanks, lj — now I have to gto buy a new chair *&* a new heating pad! Ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow……

    B

Leave a Reply

