Skip to content

I am listening to C.S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters

July 27, 2007

while I work (it’s very quiet this afternoon), and as Klady reminded me in the comments below, I am very amused by this photo that Clumber (via Grandmere Mimi!) has unearthed of the MadPriest in younger days.

That clever doggie! Catching the real MadPriest out like that! HAH!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2007 4:14 pm

    I love “The Screwtape Letters.” I keep thinking I should reread them sometime. Of course, that would require finding my copy.

    Who’s narrating the audio version you’re listening to?

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 27, 2007 4:29 pm

    Ralph Cosham – his voice reminds me a little tiny bit of Anthony Hopkin’s voice (which is who C.S. Lewis sounds like in my mind – ever since that movie where Hopkins played Lewis, he’s become him – much as Ian McKlellan has become Gandalf…)

    I have never read this book. And figured, as I’m working quietly anyway…might as well listen while I work.

  3. July 27, 2007 4:46 pm

    I forgot Hopkins played Lewis in Shadowlands. Great movie.

    I was curious who narrated, as I used to be quite fond of audiobooks. They made my 1.25 hour commute much more bearable a few years ago. (Fortunately, my new commute is only about half an hour long.)

  4. July 27, 2007 5:30 pm

    Did I, by any chance, pique your interest in that particular work? 😉

    Be sure to read Lewis’ The Great Divorce, if you haven’t already. MAJOR influence in my life…

  5. July 27, 2007 6:54 pm

    psst…E… it’s me, clumber. Don’t tell anyone, but I made up the part about Mimi giving me the picture….it’s our secret, okay?

    woof!

  6. July 27, 2007 9:02 pm

    I know Clumber, you good old dog..I’m just helping to incite further riot…lol

  7. July 27, 2007 9:04 pm

    Oh and Yes Doxy – you definitely inpsired me to read The Screwtape Letters.

    And now, I’m adding the Great Divorce to my list as well…

  8. July 28, 2007 11:12 am

    Uncle Screwtape has much to teach us, with my favorite lesson being causing others to think that the church is about anything but Whom it is about. Futility.

    I would think that it would be an excellent book to listen to given that the structure. Right now, of course, I’m trying to get through Deathly Gallows before any of my students tells me something I don’t want to know yet.

  9. July 28, 2007 1:37 pm

    Clumber, I’m glad that you confessed to your dastardly deed of of misinformation. You have redeemed yourself a little, just a little, but it will take time before you regain my full trust.

    I could not finish “The Screwtape Letters” – too much mind-bending involved. A former rector started a discussion class on the book, but it fell apart as the group, one by one, voted with their feet until there was no one left.

    I love C. S. Lewis, but that one I could not do.

  10. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 29, 2007 8:45 am

    Mimi – I’m not a huge audiobook person, but, this book is probably easier to listen to than to read, I think. (I’m normally such a dork and bibliophile that the tactile experience of reading the book – the smell of the paper, the feel of the heft of the book and the texture of the pages, etc., is a major part of my reading experience – just as much as the words written upon them!)

    The audio experience for this book, though, just keeps moving, and forces you through! I’ll probably listen to it more than once.

  11. July 30, 2007 11:14 am

    I actually have read neither The Screwtape Letters nor The Great Divorce. I wasn’t impressed with Mere Christianity, so I have to ask. Are those two really that good?

Leave a Reply

