Skip to content

Something for Kay, from Russell’s Teapot

July 6, 2007

for-kay.jpg

11 Comments leave one →
  1. rick allen permalink
    July 6, 2007 2:28 pm

    The cartoon raises a serious question, since, on the one hand, each of us ultimately has to decide for himself or herself what the “pole star” for our behavior should be–but, on the other hand, each of us, if we know anything infallibly, understand that we are are terribly fallible.

    Religion is indeed not for those who never question themselves, who are content with “trusting their own hearts” (which is something I can’t imagine Jesus saying, but is very much what Jean-Jacques Rousseau and his prodigy would urge).

    For those of us who know our own hearts too well to trust there too entirely, there is a need for something outside of our own devices and desires. But we must find it ourselves, and we can therefore of course never take ourselves outside of our own hands. With fear and trembling we must find the revelation of God, either in the Church, or the bible, or tradition, or reason, or intuition, or in some combination.

    And if what we find entirely coincides with out own feelings, either we have found ourselves, to our delight, entirely in sync with God and the universe–or we have perhaps conformed them to ourselves. For every Christian, Catholic, Protestant, Orthodox, traditional, progressive, it is a matter for constant self-examination–have I “put on” the mind of Christ, or have I mistaken mine for his? Am I “at ease in Zion” because I have attained some unity with the divine, or because I have constructed a comfortable facsimile of the Kingdom of God?

  2. July 6, 2007 3:37 pm

    What Rick Allen said. Also, lol.

  3. July 6, 2007 6:28 pm

    And if what we find entirely coincides with out own feelings, either we have found ourselves, to our delight, entirely in sync with God and the universe–or we have perhaps conformed them to ourselves.

    Rick I am a little surprised at your use of “feelings” in that statement.

    We must each find our own way. No one can find the way for us. Others may point the way, but, in the end, each of us must decide.

    The discussion in the cartoon is serious, but there is the bingo thing. The Roman Catholic bishop here has banned Bingo for church fund-raising purposes.

  4. rick allen permalink
    July 6, 2007 6:44 pm

    Goodness, why? Not as effecacious as blackjack and craps?

  5. July 6, 2007 8:32 pm

    Goodness, why?

    Because the old folks liked it.

    No, not really. Because he wants the flock to give their tithes to support the churches.

  6. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 6, 2007 11:03 pm

    Stamps foot…leave it to Rick to take a funny I put up for a confused Christian to heart…

    And then making some damn good points.

    Hmph.

  7. rick allen permalink
    July 7, 2007 7:21 am

    “Because he wants the flock to give their tithes to support the churches.”

    This I don’t understand, bingo being a quite effective way at fleecing the flock…..

    But, that I aside, I need to tell a true story. Well, not really……

    They say there are no atheists in foxholes, but there they were. Three of ’em, shelling all around, and it looked like the end was near.

    One of them said, “Boys, we may be done for. I hate to say it, but one of us perhaps should say a prayer. Only problem is, I don’t know how.”

    The second also professed ignorance. But the third said, “I know nothing about praying. But when young, I lived near a Catholic Church. I think I have the idea.”

    So, amidst the horrors of war, two lowered their eyes, and the third, with his arms stretched toward the heavens, began to intone, “N-62….B-12….”

  8. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 7, 2007 7:54 am

    LOL@ Rick!

    I shall tell that to my mom later.

  9. July 7, 2007 8:38 am

    ROFLMAO!!! I sure wish I had seen this yesterday. This really means a lot and sums up my frustration (and desire) well. Now I’m off to read the comments. 🙂

  10. July 7, 2007 8:42 am

    Done reading the comments. I have nothing to add other than to say that if you were right here Eileen I’d give you a freakin’ huge hug.

  11. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 7, 2007 11:14 am

    ((((Kay)))) – Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

